Archive for January, 2010

Percy Jackson and the Olympians 1 – The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan

Saturday, January 9th, 2010


 

Ages: 9-12
Paperback: 400 pages
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion (March 21, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0786838655
ISBN-13: 978-0786838653

 

Order from here:
amazon
 
 
 

Overview

This is book one in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. Percy is your typical, or not so typical 12 year old boy. He’s been thrown out of school after school. He’s been diagnosed with ADHD, and Dyslexia. He’s got a stepfather who’s verbally and emotionally abusive to both him and his mother. A mother who is hard working, but is keeping some secrets from him. Things are about to change for Percy. He’s about to embark on an adventure worthy of the gods of Olympus. The adventure is a quest to find a thunderbolt stolen from the god Zeus.

Review

I really liked this book. I’ve always been a big fan of Greek Mythology. This book, while initially geared towards younger readers, is something enjoyable, I think by all ages. If you know nothings about Greek Mythology, I think this will begin an interest in it. If your a fan of it, like I am, you’ll enjoy seeing all the various mythological creatures and gods show up. The basic premise is of a similar vein to Harry Potter. A young boy is sent on amazing adventures, a school (or in this case, a summer camp) is involved, etc. I couldn’t resist continuing to read to find out how they got out of things next, or to see who shows up next.

I think if you’re a parent of 12-13 year olds, or just a parent who enjoys light adventures, then you’ll probably enjoy Percy Jackson. I know I did, and I look forward to reading the rest of the series. There’s no foul language. There may be some stronger scenes similar to what you’d see in Wizard of Oz. All in all though, I’d say it’s a book fit for the whole family to enjoy.

This movie is soon to be released to theaters near you. I am including the link to the trailer. Enjoy.

YouTube Preview Image

So have you read this? What are your favorite books in this Genre? Favorite Fantasy Authors?

You can discuss it here or leave comments below.

A Soldier’s Star: The love and loss between a parent and child – Deborah Petty

Thursday, January 7th, 2010


 

Reading Level: Ages 4-8
Paperback: 28 pages
Publisher: Trafford Publishing (October 8, 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1425172652
ISBN-13: 978-1425172657 
Order from here:
amazon

I became acquainted with Deb through a facebook friend. It was here that I learned of her book, and her husband Christopher. Chris Petty was killed in Iraq on January 5th, 2006. He left behind Deb, and two sons Oliver and Owen. Deb wrote this book as a result of that.

The book is about a young boy, who goes through many of the normal emotions after losing a loved one. Mostly anger. Then he gets one last amazing chance to see his father again.

This book is truly moving. Once I received it, I had to read it immediately. I can’t think of a single book that has ever moved me to tears before. This one did. Knowing one of the author’s and what she and her two sons went through in the loss of her husband, and seeing the heartbreak and anger of the young boy in this boy, really make you appreciate the sacrifice our soldiers make. Please get a copy of this book, and share it with your whole family.

You can discuss it here or discuss it here by clicking on the comments tag below.

Thriller and Suspense Reading Challenge 2010

Wednesday, January 6th, 2010

I decided this morning I’d take part in my first reading challenge.  What is a challenge you ask?  You agree to read x number of books in a certain genre, or matching certain criteria.  In this case it’s 12 Thrillers/Suspense in a year.  Read more about it, and maybe sign up at Book Chick City

BS – John Auger and Jerry Serra, Illustrated by Jahna Vaughan

Wednesday, January 6th, 2010


 

 

Paperback: 117 pages
Publisher: PublishingWorks (September 30, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1935557122
ISBN-13: 978-1935557128
Order from here:
amazon
 
 
 

If you are involved in the business world, have been, or know someone who is, I think you’ll get a kick out of this book. The authors take a look at a lot of those things that drive you crazy, and do so in a humorous manner.

The first section starts with job titles, and how it gets abused. Some of the new titles they came up with are Bookkeeper of Zonal Operations (BOZO), and Asset Savings Specialist (You figure that one out!).

They then go into acronyms (The VP of PR will be here ASAP for example), buzzwords (Robust, Enterprise).

There’s a section on the communication problems and the abuse of e-mail, conference calls, cellphones and PDA’s, etc.

They also cover hypocritical bosses, Team building exercises, and many other topics.

Spread throughout are cartoons relating to the topics, games such as buzzword bingo and word searches, and other fun activities.

But don’t think it’s all just fun and games, the authors leave tips throughout each section on how to break out of these ruts, and I found these tips to be pretty helpful.

I enjoyed this book, it reminded me so much of when I was in the corporate world. I think you’ll find it entertaining as well.

You can discuss it here

So leave some comments and tell me what always drove you crazy in business.

*DISCLAIMER* An electronic review copy of this book was provided to me by Riane at Publishing Works. Thanks Riane. This in no way influenced my review.

You can purchase directly from Publishing Works here

The King and Dr. Nick – George Nichopoulos, M.D. and Rose Clayton Phillips

Tuesday, January 5th, 2010


 

Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: Thomas Nelson (January 5, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1595551719
ISBN-13: 978-1595551719 
Order from here:
amazon
 
 
 

Overview

I think it was probably July 24, 1976 in Charleston WV. I had never heard of Elvis. My sister had purchased the tickets and took me to the concert. During the concert he threw out a blue silk scarf in my direction which she caught, and I still have. I was probably 9 years old at the time. A little over a year later, he was dead. Elvis and Dr. Nick covers the night Elvis died. It goes into great detail on a lot of the medical issues he had. It also goes into a lot of the rumors regarding abuse of drugs. There are two parts to the whole story. One is the relationship between Dr. Nick and Elvis. The second part is about the media circus that occurred afterwards.

Review

I thought the book was pretty interesting. There were medical issues I had no clue about. One interesting aspect was reading about Geraldo Rivera doing Gotcha Journalism for 20/20. The trials in the aftermath were one area where I hadn’t read much through the years. It seems the media, and others, were intent on Dr. Nick being a scapegoat. There were some areas where I questioned his judgement. One such area was in his telling about all his prescriptions were put into Elvis’s name so Vernon Presley would pay the bills. However, I’ve never quite heard of a doctor writing prescriptions in the name of anyone except the patient.

I’d recommend this book for his moderate fans. If your the type who feels that Dr. Nick killed Elvis, you probably won’t want to read it. If however, you want to see a different view of the events as they transpired, and see what the relationship was between the two men, check it out.

You can discuss it here

See a product review at Thomas Nelson Publishers

*DISCLAIMER* A review copy of this book was provided to me by through Thomas Nelson Book Bloggers Program. This in no way influenced my review.