Review: Star Wars: Vortex – Troy Denning


 Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: LucasBooks (November 30, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 034550920X
ISBN-13: 978-0345509208
Order book here:



Order E-book here:

Luke Skywalker – Jedi Grand Master.
Ben Skywalker – Jedi Knight.
Gavar Khai – Sith Knight.
Sarasu Taalon – Sith Lord.
Vestara Khai – Sith Apprentice.

Abaloth has been defeated, or so the joint force of Sith and Jedi believed. However, Abeloth survived. Once again Luke, Ben, and the Sith find themselves trying to stop her before danger comes the galaxy. On the other side of the world, Admiral Daala is continuing her quest to destroy the Jedi Knights. The Jedi Council has to deal with one of their own who may be becoming extreme in his duties.

I’ve enjoyed this series. Vortex is the sixth book, and there are three more to go. There are mutliple plot lines going on, and they add to the adventurous feel of the story. I can see more and more how this series is setting up the galaxy for the future as we’ve witnessed it in the Legacy comic series. A lot of questions remain. What is Abeloth’s goal in the story? What do all the visions mean? Will Luke and Ben ever be able to return? If so, will Ben be able to bring Vestara back from the darkside?

I enjoyed the story. For the audio edition, the added sound effects, and the narrator blended an extra dimension to the overall story. If you have read the others, then don’t miss this entry in the Fate of the Jedi series. If you haven’t, you have a lot of catching up to do.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Kathryn at Random House for a review copy of this audiobook. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.