Review: The Darkling Child – Terry Brooks

The Darkling Child
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Del Rey (June 9, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0345540794
ISBN-13: 978-0345540799
Order book here:


Order E-book here:


Reyn Frosch has trouble. Everytime he’s threatened, people end up dead, and he doesn’t know why. There are two people that do know, Arcannen and Paxon Leah. Paxon wants to protect him, Arcannen wants to control him. Reyn is caught in tug of war with no idea which side to trust.


Paxon Leah – Wielder of the Sword of Leah and Defender of the Druids.
Arcannen – Dark Wizard
Reyn Frosch – A man discovering he has the ability of the Wishsong.


In this followup to The High Druid’s Blade, the reader now finds Paxon Leah as the defender of the Druid Order. The story begins as he’s called into the office of the Ard Rhys, Aphenglow Elessedil, who proceeds to tell Paxon that she’s dying, and she has one more mission for him. He escorts her to the Hadeshorn, where her spirit joins with that of all the other druids. When Paxon returns, he’s notified that one of the Druids has noticed a familiar pattern in the waters, showing the use of some form of magic. This is where the plot than switches between that of Reyn Frosch, a young man with magic he doesn’t understand, Arcannen who is wishing to possess control of Reyn’s magic, and Paxon’s group who want to protect Reyn.

I really enjoy this. This series has seemed like a slight departure for Mr. Brooks. While you still have the normal trappings, good, evil, wishsong, there’s no global threat but only the threat of Arcannen wanting to seize power. In some ways, this is a fantasy version of a political thriller. That I think was the interesting aspect to it. Like all of Mr. Brooks books, which I’ve read, I found myself loving this one, and I look forward to when I have time to crack the cover on it, and return once again to the world of Shannara.

About the Author

Terry Brooks is the New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty books, including the Dark Legacy of Shannara adventure Wards of Faerie; the Legends of Shannara novels Bearers of the Black Staff and The Measure of the Magic; the Genesis of Shannara trilogy: Armageddon’s Children, The Elves of Cintra, and The Gypsy Morph; The Sword of Shannara; the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara trilogy: Ilse Witch, Antrax, and Morgawr; the High Druid of Shannara trilogy: Jarka Ruus, Tanequil, and Straken; the nonfiction book Sometimes the Magic Works: Lessons from a Writing Life; and the novel based upon the screenplay and story by George Lucas, Star Wars:® Episode I The Phantom Menace.™

His novels Running with the Demon and A Knight of the Word were selected by the Rocky Mountain News as two of the best science fiction/fantasy novels of the twentieth century. The author was a practicing attorney for many years but now writes full-time. He lives with his wife, Judine, in the Pacific Northwest.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.