Archive for the ‘Fiction’ Category

The Destiny of Shaitan – Hariharan Laxmi

Tuesday, January 1st, 2019
English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Author at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Visitors Book – Sophie Hannah

Tuesday, November 22nd, 2016

 

 61uimnuybcl
 Hardcover: 96 pages
Publisher: Sort of Books (October 22, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1908745525
ISBN-13: 978-1908745521
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis

A collection of short stories with a supernatural twist.

Review

This was a great collection of short stories. Each one had a bit of a supernatural twist. I won’t review each individual story, because that would involve spoiling them as they are short stories. But with the long winter months coming up, this is a great book to read by the warm fire. Each one details a specific character’s story and their being thrust into the world of ghosts. The stories are well developed and kept my attention. If I had one thing negative to say it might be that at times, I wasn’t sure if it was from the viewpoint of a dead person, or a living person looking into the world of the dead. Overall though, a great set of stories and a very enjoyable book. If you like ghost stories, then be sure to pick this up.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Wendy at Partners in Crime Tours for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

6 people like this post.

Review: The Body in the Birches – Katherine Hall Page -

Tuesday, October 11th, 2016
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (May 12, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062310828
ISBN-13: 978-9780062310828
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

Sophie Maxwell and her entire family was spending time at the Birches. Her Uncle Paul, whose wife died a year earlier was finally getting around to reading her will. But the fun vacation turned to tragedy, when Bev the family housekeeper is found murdered on the beach. Sophie gets Faith Fairchild, a neighbor and amateur sleuth to look into it. Was it her Uncle Simon? Her mother? And why was she killed? Was she somehow connect to the will?

I really liked this, it wasn’t as fast paced as I would have liked, but it was an enjoyable story. A lot of time, four chapters, was spent on character development which seemed a bit excessive at times. But the characters were interesting, and had realistic personalities and motivations. The plot was kind of run of the mill. But overall, I found it to be an enjoyable mystery.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to at William Morrow for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

6 people like this post.

Review: Life is Beautiful: How a Lost Girl Became a True, Confident Child of God – Sarah M. Johnson

Thursday, October 6th, 2016
Life is Beautiful
Hardcover: 198 pages
Publisher: Morgan James Publishing (August 25, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1630474886
ISBN-13: 978-1630474881
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Review

Sarah Johnson and her family were going on a mission trip to help build schools in Guatemala. Enroute to the small village, the plan she was on crashed. Eleven of the fourteen people on board were killed, including her father and brother. Her mother was seriously injured, and events would also damage their relationship. This memoir is a record of that time, her struggles, her families flaws, and how she managed to overcome the most traumatic even to occur in her lie and how she found her faith again.

This book was a very quick and very short read. The author is very detailed about things that went on, and about her family. Some of it was very sad, such as her dad’s meth use, and her mother’s anger issues with her over events of the wreck. I found her to have a very inspiring and interesting story, and it kept me turning the pages wanting to see how someone can still see the good in life when almost everything they’ve loved was taken from them.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

6 people like this post.

Review: The Shifting Sands of Cam Ranh Bay – Janice Stroud Sentif, Lt. Col. Carolyn J. Eberhart

Tuesday, October 4th, 2016
The Shifting Sands of Cam Ranh Bay
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: Shifting Sands (February 22, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0615608043
ISBN-13: 978-0615608044
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Review

The Vietnam War, we hear all about the soldiers, the battles, and the politics. One area though, we hear little about and that’s about the combat nurses. From 1964 to 1975 there were only 7500 women to serve in Vietnam. This memoir is the story of some of those women. We follow along from one receiving their first orders, through all the daily life and perils, to the end when they finally get to go home. But it’s not one woman’s story, but the stories of many women.

I loved this book. For the first time, I was able to see every step of the process for a soldier going through the war. In the process I learned a lot about the Vietnam War, the military, and the nursing program. The author did a great job in compiling all the anecdotes and putting it all together into a cohesive timeframe. The prose flowed very easy, and I found it very easy to read and understand what was going on. Overall a terrific memoir on a seldom noticed faction of the Vietnam War.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Darkling Child – Terry Brooks

Monday, June 13th, 2016
The Darkling Child
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Del Rey (June 9, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0345540794
ISBN-13: 978-0345540799
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Reyn Frosch has trouble. Everytime he’s threatened, people end up dead, and he doesn’t know why. There are two people that do know, Arcannen and Paxon Leah. Paxon wants to protect him, Arcannen wants to control him. Reyn is caught in tug of war with no idea which side to trust.

Characters:

Paxon Leah – Wielder of the Sword of Leah and Defender of the Druids.
Arcannen – Dark Wizard
Reyn Frosch – A man discovering he has the ability of the Wishsong.

Review

In this followup to The High Druid’s Blade, the reader now finds Paxon Leah as the defender of the Druid Order. The story begins as he’s called into the office of the Ard Rhys, Aphenglow Elessedil, who proceeds to tell Paxon that she’s dying, and she has one more mission for him. He escorts her to the Hadeshorn, where her spirit joins with that of all the other druids. When Paxon returns, he’s notified that one of the Druids has noticed a familiar pattern in the waters, showing the use of some form of magic. This is where the plot than switches between that of Reyn Frosch, a young man with magic he doesn’t understand, Arcannen who is wishing to possess control of Reyn’s magic, and Paxon’s group who want to protect Reyn.

I really enjoy this. This series has seemed like a slight departure for Mr. Brooks. While you still have the normal trappings, good, evil, wishsong, there’s no global threat but only the threat of Arcannen wanting to seize power. In some ways, this is a fantasy version of a political thriller. That I think was the interesting aspect to it. Like all of Mr. Brooks books, which I’ve read, I found myself loving this one, and I look forward to when I have time to crack the cover on it, and return once again to the world of Shannara.

About the Author

Terry Brooks is the New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty books, including the Dark Legacy of Shannara adventure Wards of Faerie; the Legends of Shannara novels Bearers of the Black Staff and The Measure of the Magic; the Genesis of Shannara trilogy: Armageddon’s Children, The Elves of Cintra, and The Gypsy Morph; The Sword of Shannara; the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara trilogy: Ilse Witch, Antrax, and Morgawr; the High Druid of Shannara trilogy: Jarka Ruus, Tanequil, and Straken; the nonfiction book Sometimes the Magic Works: Lessons from a Writing Life; and the novel based upon the screenplay and story by George Lucas, Star Wars:® Episode I The Phantom Menace.™

His novels Running with the Demon and A Knight of the Word were selected by the Rocky Mountain News as two of the best science fiction/fantasy novels of the twentieth century. The author was a practicing attorney for many years but now writes full-time. He lives with his wife, Judine, in the Pacific Northwest.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Finding Unauthorized Faith in Harry Potter – Nicole L. Rivera

Thursday, April 21st, 2016
Finding Unauthorized Faith in Harry Potter
Paperback: 260 pages
Publisher: Hickey’s Books (July 13, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0996524207
ISBN-13: 978-0996524209
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A look into all seven books in the Harry Potter series and how you can draw parallels between them and the Christian religion.

Review

Harry Potter, a world of Magic and dark forces. The idea of their children being exposed to it, is a big drawback to parents. Due to their religious beliefs, they object to their children reading about Wizards and witchcraft. The same argument has been used since I was a teenager playing Dungeons and Dragons. However, parents have the right to be concerned. No one wants to tell them what they can and can’t believe. But Nicole Rivera was a big Harry Potter fan and also a woman of faith. She set out to see how the two compare, and Finding Unauthorized Faith in Harry Potter is the result.

Each section of the book details one of the books in the Harry Potter series. I liked it being divided like this, because it can be used as a kind of reader’s guide. Read Harry Potter and the Sorcer’s Stone, then read about how various bible passages parallel the lessons that can be drawn from it.

I found the book very interesting, although a bit spoiler filled as I’ve only read the first book in Harry Potter. That fact aside though, it was well written, and well researched, and was obvious to me that it was a product of Ms. Rivera’s love for both the Bible and Harry Potter. I’d recommend this for all ages, and especially those who might be intersted in Harry Potter, but a bit reluctant. It’d be a good opportunity for both parent and child to read the books together, and discuss them.

About the Author

Nicole RiveraThere is a quote that says, “If you can quit, quit. If you can’t, you’re a writer.” Ever since I could write, I loved to write, especially stories. Stories are my passion which is why I wrote “The Parable of Harry Potter” series (book 1 released), to explore one of my favorite stories of all time!

My goal is to write the books I would want to read. I believe that in writing what I want to read, I will write what others want to read.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes the Author for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Jericho River – David W. Tollen

Tuesday, April 19th, 2016
The Jericho River
Paperback: 356 pages
Publisher: Winifred Press; 2 edition (August 4, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0985451726
ISBN-13: 978-0985451721
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Jason Gallo is the son of a father who is an avid historian. After his mother dies, things become difficult between he and his father. Then his father is found in a somewhat comatose like state. Jason is tasked with going on an adventure that can only occur through a dream state. This adventure takes Jason on a journey through the entire history of western man.

Characters:

Jason Gallo – Young explorer.
Rim-Hadad – A Barbarian
Tia – Egyptian Temple Priestess.

Review

This book while aimed at younger readers, I found very interesting. Each chapter begins with a note from Dr. Gallo, father to Jason. This note informs the reader of the historical facts behind what Jason will be witnessing in that chapter. The overall plotline is rather simple, Jason must find his father who is lost. Along the way, Jason meets many companions, which in a way is similar to Wizard of Oz and many other such stories. This historical blending into the storyline I found very fascinating, and ended up really enjoying it, and even at my age, found that I learned a bit about history, which was it’s intent.

Overall the book is good for young teens. There are some scenes of mild violence that may not be suitable for some readers. The characters are well developed and very interesting. Overall for teens and pre-teens just beginning to learn world History, I think this would be great book to expose them to. I’ve discovered from experience that a lot of people learn and retain more when the subject is made fun, and this does make the subject fun.

About the Author

David W. TollenDavid Tollen writes novels that teach history and science — as well as works of nonfiction about technology law.

David’s first novel, THE JERICHO RIVER, won first place at both the London Book Festival and the Next Generation Indie Book Awards. It also won a bronze medal in the Readers’ Favorite Book Reviews and Awards Contest, among other honors. THE JERICHO RIVER is a novel that uses fantasy to teach the history of Western Civilization. It’s published by Winifred Press. (The book’s first edition was released under the author pen-name “David Carthage.” The current/second edition uses the author’s actual name.)

David’s second novel — not yet published — is SECRETS OF HOMINEA, a middle grade fantasy that teaches history and science.

David is also the author of THE TECH CONTRACTS HANDBOOK: CLOUD COMPUTING AGREEMENTS, SOFTWARE LICENSES, AND OTHER IT CONTRACTS FOR LAWYERS AND BUSINESSPEOPLE (Second Edition). It’s published by the American Bar Association, and it’s the number-one bestseller for the Intellectual Property Law Section of the ABA. THE TECH CONTRACTS HANDBOOK is a how-to guide for drafting and negotiating IT agreements, written in simple English.

David earned law degrees from Harvard Law School and Cambridge University in England, as well as a B.A. in history from U.C. Berkeley. He’s the founder of Sycamore Legal P.C., a San Francisco technology and intellectual property law firm. He also provides training and expert witness services related to negotiating and drafting IT contracts.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Rebecca at The Cadence Group for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Spy House – Matthew Dunn

Sunday, February 28th, 2016
The Spy House
Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (October 20, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062309498
ISBN-13: 978-0062309495
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

Matthew DunnAs an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn recruited and ran agents, coordinated and participated in special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He operated in highly hostile environments, where, if compromised and captured, he would have been executed. Dunn was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep-cover deployments, small-arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration.

Medals are never awarded to modern MI6 officers, but Dunn was the recipient of a very rare personal commendation from the secretary of state for foreign and commonwealth affairs for work he did on one mission, which was deemed so significant that it directly influenced the successful conclusion of a major international incident.

During his time in MI6, Dunn conducted approximately seventy missions. All of them were successful. He lives in England.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Pamela at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Force Awakens – Alan Dean Foster

Tuesday, January 26th, 2016
The Force Awakens
Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: LucasBooks (January 5, 2016)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1101965495
ISBN-13: 978-1101965498
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Characters:

Rey – Desert Scavenger who is emarking on an adventure that will change her life.
Finn – First Order Stormtrooper who is taking charge of his own fate and living according to his conscience.

Review

Sometime in the late 80s, I stumble across a book in our county library. This book amazed me, it turns out that it was a novel featuring the characters from Star Wars. Until that time, all I’d seen were the novelizations. The book was Splinter of the Mind’s Eye, and I was amazed. Finally there were more stories to be told. The author of that book was Alan Dean Foster, and now almost 30 years later, I’m looking at another book from Mr. Foster again featuring some of those same characters, but this time new characters. This book is the novelization for The Force Awakens, and I absolutely loved it.

From the first chapter, this book begins expanding on the story a lot more than the movie did. You see more of characters motivations, thoughts, feelings. Certain scenes began to make more sense to me, even though I’d seen the movie twice already. There were also some scenes that were either cut or written for the novel and never filmed, that I thought were very interesting, and should have been in the movie.

Some of the battle scenes came out a little flat, and not as exciting as in some of the older “Legends” novels, but part of that may be that the characters are still growing on us, and finding their own way in the Star Wars Universe.

Overall thought, I thought it was a great book, a great companion piece to the movie, and just a lot of fun. So check it out, and as always be sure to drop back in and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Alan Dean FosterAlan Dean Foster’s work to date includes excursions into hard science-fiction, fantasy, horror, detective, western, historical, and contemporary fiction. He has also written numerous non-fiction articles on film, science, and scuba diving, as well as having produced the novel versions of many films, including such well-known productions as “Star Wars”, the first three “Alien” films, “Alien Nation”, and “The Chronicles of Riddick”. Other works include scripts for talking records, radio, computer games, and the story for the first “Star Trek” movie. His novel “Shadowkeep” was the first ever book adapation of an original computer game. In addition to publication in English his work has been translated into more than fifty languages and has won awards in Spain and Russia. His novel “Cyber Way” won the Southwest Book Award for Fiction in 1990, the first work of science-fiction ever to do so.

Foster’s sometimes humorous, occasionally poignant, but always entertaining short fiction has appeared in all the major SF magazines as well as in original anthologies and several “Best of the Year” compendiums. His published oeuvre includes more than 100 books.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.