Archive for the ‘Mystery/Thriller’ Category

Review: The Visitors Book – Sophie Hannah

Tuesday, November 22nd, 2016

 

 61uimnuybcl
 Hardcover: 96 pages
Publisher: Sort of Books (October 22, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1908745525
ISBN-13: 978-1908745521
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis

A collection of short stories with a supernatural twist.

Review

This was a great collection of short stories. Each one had a bit of a supernatural twist. I won’t review each individual story, because that would involve spoiling them as they are short stories. But with the long winter months coming up, this is a great book to read by the warm fire. Each one details a specific character’s story and their being thrust into the world of ghosts. The stories are well developed and kept my attention. If I had one thing negative to say it might be that at times, I wasn’t sure if it was from the viewpoint of a dead person, or a living person looking into the world of the dead. Overall though, a great set of stories and a very enjoyable book. If you like ghost stories, then be sure to pick this up.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Wendy at Partners in Crime Tours for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

5 people like this post.

Review: The Spy House – Matthew Dunn

Sunday, February 28th, 2016
The Spy House
Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (October 20, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062309498
ISBN-13: 978-0062309495
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

Matthew DunnAs an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn recruited and ran agents, coordinated and participated in special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He operated in highly hostile environments, where, if compromised and captured, he would have been executed. Dunn was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep-cover deployments, small-arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration.

Medals are never awarded to modern MI6 officers, but Dunn was the recipient of a very rare personal commendation from the secretary of state for foreign and commonwealth affairs for work he did on one mission, which was deemed so significant that it directly influenced the successful conclusion of a major international incident.

During his time in MI6, Dunn conducted approximately seventy missions. All of them were successful. He lives in England.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Pamela at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Silent Girls – Eric Rickstad

Tuesday, January 19th, 2016
The Silent Girls
Paperback: 416 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (January 27, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062351540
ISBN-13: 978-0062351548
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Harland Rath is pulled into the investigation when a young girl disappears. He begins to suspect a serial killer, but no one else can be convinced.

Characters:

Frank Rath – Former Police Detective, now Private Investigator.
Harland Grout – Newly promoted Detective on the Canaan Vermont Police Force.

Review

This was a very involving novel. There’s the one main plot involving Rath, there’s a subplot involving his missing daughter, and a lead-in plot obviously for the next novel involving a man he put in prison for serial killing. The action was pretty well paced out, and the plot was interesting, and a little more planned out then in a lot of novels lately.

You could to witness the characters grow and change. Rath learning to trust his daughter more. Grout learning to be a better detective. This is definitely not a novel though for the easily offended. The main plot line involves a very controversial subject that some readers might find offensive. That would be on the subject of abortion, abortion protestors, and all that is connected.

If the subject matter, and the strong language and content doesn’t offend you though, you’ll find it’s a well written, well planned out novel. I recommend it to all thriller fans out there. Be sure to drop in and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Eric RickstadEric Rickstad is the New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Globe & Mail Bestselling author of THE SILENT GIRLS, a #1 bestselling Nook and Kindle novel heralded as intelligent and profound, dark, disturbing, and heartbreaking. His latest novel is LIE IN WAIT. His first novel REAP, a literary suspense novel, was a New York Times Noteworthy Novel. He lives in his home state of Vermont with his lovely wife, daughter, and son.

He is represented by Philip Spitzer of the Philip G. Spitzer Literary Agency.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lauren at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

1 people like this post.

Review: A Ghostly Murder – Tonya Kappes

Thursday, January 14th, 2016
A Ghostly Murder
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Witness (September 29, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062374931
ISBN-13: 978-0062374936
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Once again Emma Lee finds herself trying to help a recently departed spirit solve their murder in order to cross over.

Characters:

Emma Lee Raines – Undertaker and communicator with the dead.
Mamie Sue Preston –

Review

This is the fourth and unless things change, final entry in Ms. Kappes Ghostly Southern Mysteries, and like all the rest was a blast to read. As a reader of the whole series, I’ve been able to watch the characters grow. The Emma in this book has much higher self esteem and is more comfortable in her role.

Each of these books, while connected, can also be read as standalones. However, each book will kind of spoil the one prior by mentioning some of the events that occurred, so if you get the chance to read them in order, I’d do so.

I’d rate this for all ages, as there doesn’t seem to be much objectionable outside of the murder, and the violence from those attempting to stop Emma’s investigations. However, none of the violence is graphic, and is more along the lines of what you’d find in a Hardy Boys or Nancy Drew story.

If you like cozy mysteries with a sense of humor, grab this series. Be sure to drop back in and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Tonya KappesFor years, USA today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lucy at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

2 people like this post.

Review: A Ghostly Demise – Tonya Kappes

Tuesday, January 12th, 2016
A Ghostly Demise
Mass Market Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: Witness (August 25, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062374915
ISBN-13: 978-0062374912
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Once again Emma Lee finds herself trying to help a recently departed spirit solve their murder in order to cross over.

Characters:

Cephus Hardy – Recently departed.
Emma Lee Raines – Undertaker and communicator with the dead.

Review

This is the third entry in Ms. Kappes Ghostly Southern Mysteries, and like all the rest was a ton of fun. Emma Raines, and the cast of characters are just enjoyable, and the humor just adds to the storyline. As a reader, I really get the feel of this small town, and really like all the oddball characters.

Like all the rest, there are various subplots involving Emma’s grandmother, her run for mayor, and someone trying to sabotage her campaign. The grandmother out of all the characters, is one of the most fun. None of the characters are really cookie cutter, but each has their own distinct appearance and likeability factor.

If you are into cozy mysteries with a sense of humor, you’d love this series. I can’t think of anything objectionable in it. So check it out and be sure to let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Tonya KappesFor years, USA today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lucy at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

1 people like this post.

Review: Spy Trade – Matthew Dunn

Thursday, December 31st, 2015
Spy Trade
Mass Market Paperback: 208 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (September 1, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062441426
ISBN-13: 978-0062441423
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A CIA Veteran is captured by terrorists. They threaten to kill him if a specific prisoner is not released within a given time frame.

Characters:

Will Cochrane – Special Agent
Patrick Bolte – Director of a join CIA-MI6 task force.

Review

When two people are captured and threatened with death by Terrorists, Patrick Cochrane is forced to seek help to find them. He pulls Will Cochrane into his plans. Cochrane’s journey then takes him across the continent of Europe and into Russia.

I’m not 100% sure what I think of this book. While it seemed a very accurate spy novel, I just didn’t get it. Perhaps my mind was on other things at the time. The author is apparently very well qualified to write about the subject of spies, as he was involved in that type of job.

I have another in this line to read, and perhaps I will be able to better follow it. I didn’t hate this novel. I like the characters. The story seemed a bit cliché’d but then in the end had an unexpected twist. Perhaps the length of this story made things move a little too fast. It was technically a novella, and was only about 178 pages in length. It wasn’t until about the last 20 or 30 pages where I began to understand what the whole point of the story was.

While I didn’t fall in love with this, I do intend to give Mr. Dunn’s novels a second try with The Spy House. I think for fans of real life spy type novels, they’d probably love this. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t love it either. I was just kind of left neutral.

But check it out if it’s your type of genre, and let us know what you thought about it.

About the Author

Matthew DunnAs an MI6 field officer, Matthew Dunn recruited and ran agents, coordinated and participated in special operations, and acted in deep-cover roles throughout the world. He operated in highly hostile environments, where, if compromised and captured, he would have been executed. Dunn was trained in all aspects of intelligence collection, deep-cover deployments, small-arms, explosives, military unarmed combat, surveillance, and infiltration.

Medals are never awarded to modern MI6 officers, but Dunn was the recipient of a very rare personal commendation from the secretary of state for foreign and commonwealth affairs for work he did on one mission, which was deemed so significant that it directly influenced the successful conclusion of a major international incident.

During his time in MI6, Dunn conducted approximately seventy missions. All of them were successful. He lives in England.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Pamela at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Nation of Enemies – H. A. Raynes

Tuesday, December 29th, 2015
Nation of Enemies
Paperback: 528 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (October 6, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062417703
ISBN-13: 978-0062417701
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

In a future society, people are chipped according to their health status. Those who don’t meet a certain standard are lesser citizens. But Reverand Charles Mitchell has a plan to overthrow all that. He will use any means necessary.

Characters:

Dr. Cole Fitzgerald – Chief of Emergency Medicine, Masschusetts General Hospital
Steven Hudson – Owner of Hudson Funeral Homes.
Sebastian Diaz – FBI Special Agent.
Chris Renner – Diaz’s partner.
Charles Mitchell – A Fundamentalist Minister with a dark past.

Review

I found this to be a very well developed and plotted novel. It shows one direction a country can go if it bends to religious fanaticism. Charles Mitchell is under suspicion by the FBI for suspected involve in previous acts of terrorism. Agent Dr. Cole is assigned to go under cover in Mitchell’s Patriot church.

At the same time, Dr. Cole Fitzgerald is trying to find a way to stop the government from implanting the chips in people. His wife was forbidden entry into another country as she didn’t match the proper limits for good health based on her chip and ratings number.

Fitzgerald and Diaz are brother in laws, and will soon find themselves having to work together to stop Mitchell’s dark plans. But how many people will die before they succeed, to find out read Enemies of the Nation.

This book may offend some religiously inclined as it doesn’t look favorably upon the fictional church within it. There is also some strong language, and violence that would not be appropriate for young children, so like most books I review, this one is for older teens and adult audiences.

Overall, I’d recommend this novel. It definitely had one of the most interesting plots of anything I read recently.

About the Author

H. A. RaynesH.A. Raynes was inspired to write NATION OF ENEMIES by a family member who was a Titanic survivor and another who escaped Poland in World War II. Combining lessons from the past with a healthy fear of the modern landscape, this novel was born. A longtime member of Boston’s writing community, H.A. Raynes has a history of trying anything once (acting, diving out of a plane, white water rafting, and parenting). Writing and raising children seem to have stuck.

Nation of Enemies

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Anwesha at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Murder Road – Stephen Booth

Thursday, November 12th, 2015
The Murder Road
Hardcover: 416 pages
Publisher: Sphere (July 16, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0751559946
ISBN-13: 978-0751559941
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A rainy night. A Dark road. A wrecked Vehicle. Murder. Ben Cooper and his team have their hands full in trying to solve this case, particularly against an entire small town unwilling to talk.

Characters:

Ben Cooper – Detective Inspector
Diane Fry – Detective Sergeant
Devdan Sharma – Detective Sergeant
Luke Irvine – Detective Constable
Carol Villiers – Detective Constable

Review

A Truck driver is stranded on a road when he’s attacked and murdered. A team of inspectors are pulled in to the investigation. This team headed by Ben Cooper is hardly the ideal team. One of the Detectives has trouble following through on tasks he’s given. Another is new to the department, and isn’t quite accepted. In the middle of the investigation, another man commits suicide. Are these two deaths connected?

I liked the story line of this. The characters were well developed. Some of it was a bit difficult, as I’m not always familiar with British police ranks, and some British terminology. That fact aside though, the story kept me involved to the last page. There were plenty of twists and turns along the way to keep it exciting.

If I were going to rate it though, I’d rate it for older teens and adults due to subject matter. But if you enjoy good mysteries and thrillers, then check out Murder Road. Note that this is the 15th book in the Cooper & Fry series, so if you’re one that wants to read in order, you might want to start with the first. Though it seems each one can be standalone, I’ve found typically some events in previous novels (deaths, etc.) may be spoiled.

About the Author

Stephen BoothStephen Booth is an award winning British crime writer, the creator of two young Derbyshire police detectives, DC Ben Cooper and DS Diane Fry, who have appeared in thirteen novels set in England’s beautiful and atmospheric Peak District.

Stephen has been a Gold Dagger finalist, an Anthony Award nominee, twice winner of a Barry Award for Best British Crime Novel, and twice shortlisted for the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year. Ben Cooper was a finalist for the Sherlock Award for the best detective created by a British author, and in 2003 the Crime Writers’ Association presented Stephen with the Dagger in the Library Award for “the author whose books have given readers the most pleasure”.

The Cooper & Fry series is published all around the world, and has been translated into 15 languages. The latest title is ALREADY DEAD, published in June 2013.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lucy at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Classic Corner Review: The Greek Cross Mystery – Ellery Queen

Tuesday, November 10th, 2015
The Egyptian Cross Mystery
Mass Market Paperback
Publisher: Signet (May 1, 1979)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0451086635
ISBN-13: 978-0451086631
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Ellery Queen is pulled into a string of grisly murders. Someone is murdering people and leaving them nailed to a cross minus their head.

Characters:

Ellery Queen – Special Investigator
Andrew Van – Schoolmaster.
Stephen Megara – Yachtsman

Review

This is one of the darkest Ellery Queen stories I’ve read so far, and the one that’s held my attention the most. Ellery Queen is originally called to investigate a murder in which the victim is found hanging from a cross, and missing his head. For the first time, he’s unable to solve the case. Fast forward in time, and a second murder exactly the same occurs. Again Ellery Queen is on the case.

I really like the Ellery Queen mysteries. While the characters are rather flat, cookie cutter characters, the stories tend to be intriguing. I like the idea in the first of the books in which Ellery steps out from that invisible wall, and speaks to the reader with his challenge to solve the mystery. So far out of four or five of the novels, I’ve failed to meet his challenge, and I’m good with that. To do otherwise I think would mean the puzzle wasn’t as challenging to me as it could have been.

While not for all readers, I would recommend it for older teens and adults. The imagery and language is pretty tame for the time period in which they were published. However, for the contents of the books, I wouldn’t recommend it for younger readers, unless they were very mature.

Overall for Ellery Queen fans, I think you should check this one out.

About the Author

Ellery Queen was a pen name created and shared by two cousins, Frederic Dannay (1905–1982) and Manfred B. Lee (1905–1971), as well as the name of their most famous detective. Born in Brooklyn, they spent forty-two years writing, editing, and anthologizing under the name, gaining a reputation as the foremost American authors of the Golden Age “fair play” mystery. Although eventually famous on television and radio, Queen’s first appearance came in 1928, when the cousins won a mystery-writing contest with the book that would eventually be published as The Roman Hat Mystery.

Their character was an amateur detective who uses his spare time to assist his police inspector uncle in solving baffling crimes. Besides writing the Queen novels, Dannay and Lee cofounded Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, one of the most influential crime publications of all time. Although Dannay outlived his cousin by nine years, he retired Queen upon Lee’s death.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: LA Rotten – Jeff Klima

Thursday, June 25th, 2015
LA Rotten
Publisher: Alibi (May 12, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order e-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A crime scene cleaner begins noticing a pattern, when he is continuously called to the same hotel room number. He discovers that there is actually a serial killer running amok.

Characters:

Tom Tanner – Crime Scene Cleaner and Heroin addict.
Ivy – A stripper, who involves herself with Tom’s investigation.

Review

I wasn’t sure what to think of this book at first. I didn’t find the protagonist, Tom Tanner very likeble. By the time I got to the end though, I was able to appreciate his growth arc. Tom is dealing with a heroin addiction, while working as a crime cleanup pro, and sidelining for a group that needs him to get rid of bodies. He frequents strip clubs, and just doesn’t appear to be a pleasant person. But as the story progresses, we see him grow, we see the loyalties he holds, and while he may not do so kindly, a lot of the things he does, is out of caring for the other person.

The plotline I found very interesting. A series of murders are occurring at a motel chain. Different branches, but always the same room #. Each of the murders though is made to look like an accident, or a suicide. Tom involves himself in discovering this. Aided in his investigation, though not through any desire of his, is Ivy, a local stripper, and someone Tom doesn’t like so well.

While I was unsure of the story at the beginning, I found myself liking it. The characters were fairly well developed, and much of the book read like a classic private eye novel. I’d rate it as for 17 or older due to a lot of strong language, drug use, and violence. However, for those interested in thrillers, pick this up for a great summer read, and be sure to drop in and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Jeff KlimaJeff Klima spent years in the grime and guts of Southern California as a cofounder of Orange County Crime Scene Cleaners. He is a temporary survivor of Los Angeles and now resides in Ohio, where there is less danger but more corn. Although he’s hard at work on another Tom Tanner mystery, he still finds time to write short bios about himself for the backs of his other books. Also, check out The Dead Janitors Club—that’s a good one.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lisa Munley at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.