Archive for the ‘Paranormal Fantasy’ Category

Giveaway: Terminus – Joshua Graham

Monday, April 1st, 2013

I’m pleased to offer my readers 2 ebook copies of this book (1 Kindle/1 nook). To enter, follow these simple rules:

1) One Entry if you’re a follower [You can follow through Google Friend connect to the right, you can also sign up to follow through Twitter or Facebook].
2) An Additonal Entry if you blog about this contest.
3) An Additonal Entry if you’re a new follower.
4) One entry each for posting on facebook and/or twitter.
5) Must leave a comment letting me know how you follow me, blog link to this post, facebook/twitter link, etc.
6) Contest will continue until 4/15/2013.
7) This giveaway is open to residents of US only. No PO Box addresses (street mailing only).

See our review here.

8 people like this post.

Review: Terminus – Joshua Graham

Monday, April 1st, 2013
Paperback: 406 pages
Publisher: Redhaven Books (April 1, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0984452648
ISBN-13: 978-0984452644
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Nikolai – A fallen angel.
Hope Matheson – A woman with a broken past.

Synopsis:

How far must an angel fall to find his destiny?

Having witnessed one too many senseless deaths, Nikolai, a disillusioned Reaper 3rd Class, resigns his commission with the Angel Forces after a tedious century of gathering souls.

Immediately, another division recruits him with the promise of a more rewarding career, and issues his initial assignments: To bring down a few very dangerous threats to the human race. In the process, Nikolai falls in love with one of his targets—Hope Matheson, a woman who will lead thousands astray.

Review

What would you sacrifice for someone else? Throughout mankind’s history, there have been those individuals willing to give up everything in their lives for their fellow man. In Terminus, by Joshua Graham, he tackles that question through the character of Nikolai. Nikolai is basically a grim reaper. His job is collect the souls of the dearly departed. But when he has to collect the soul of a young girl, and see the broken spirit of her mother, he decides he no longer wants to continue as a Reaper. He takes on a job for another division and is given three simple tasks. However, as he becomes involved in the lives of the 3 people involved, he finds the tasks harder and harder to accomplish.

Mr. Graham has taken stories of old and given them a new spin. The fallen (or disgraced) hero who must decide between his job and what he feels is right. The reader can feel Nikolai’s emotional turmoil as he finds himself struggling between the two goals.

The characters are richly developed and while the reader at first sees each storyline evolve separately, they eventually reach a point where they are all integrated into one major plotline. The situations are real, or at least as real as you can get when writing about fallen Angels in the modern world, but they are real to this world. You get to watch the characters grow and change as they are exposed to the possibilities for their lives. And you get to see how each of them would answer the question.

I would recommend this book for any fan of paranormal fantasy. While there are some religious undertones, Mr. Graham is never the type to beat one over the head with proselytizing. For an age group I’d say ages mid teen to adults due mainly to subject matter and some of the storylines. It seems that Mr. Graham left the door open for more stories within this world, and I for one look forward to it with eager anticipation.

About the Author

WINNER OF the INTERNATIONAL BOOK AWARDS (Beyond Justice),
#1 bestselling author Joshua Graham’s award-winning novel DARKROOM hit 3 bestseller lists on Amazon the night of its release.

CBS NEWS described DARKROOM as a book with “action, political intrigue and well-rounded characters…a novel that thriller fans will devour.”

PUBLISHERS WEEKLY described BEYOND JUSTICE as: “A riveting legal thriller…breaking new ground with a vengeance…demonically entertaining and surprisingly inspiring.”

Suspense Magazine listed BEYOND JUSTICE in its BEST OF 2010, alongside titles by Scott Turrow, Ted Dekker, Steven James and Brad Thor.

His short story THE DOOR’S OPEN won the HarperCollins Authonomy Competition (Christmas 2010.)

Many of Graham’s readers blame him for sleepless nights, arriving to work late, neglected dishes and family members, and not allowing them to put the book down.

Josh grew up in Brooklyn, NY where he lived for the better part of 30 years. He holds a Bachelor and Master’s Degree and went on to earn his doctorate from Johns Hopkins University. During his time in Maryland, he taught as a professor at Shepherd College (WV), Western Maryland College, and Columbia Union College (MD).

Today he lives with his beautiful wife and children in Southern California. Several of Graham’s short fiction works have been published by Pocket Books and Dawn Treader Press.

Writing under the pen name Ian Alexander, Graham debuted with his first Epic Fantasy novel ONCE WE WERE KINGS, an Amazon #1 Bestseller in multiple categories and Award-Winning Finalist in the SciFi/Fantasy category of The USA “Best Books 2011″ Awards, as well as an Award-Winning Finalist in the Young Adult Fiction category of The USA “Best Books 2011″ Awards, and an Award Winner in the 2011 Forward National Literature Awards in the Teen/Young Adult category. ONCE WE WERE KINGS is available in ebook and hardcover editions.

For Film Rights Josh is represented by UNITED TALENT AGENCY. Please use the CONTACT button on his website www.joshua-graham.com/contact for all inquiries.

Connect with Josh on:

Facebook: http://joshua-graham.com/fb
Twitter: @JoshuaGraham

www.joshua-graham.com
www.facebook.com/j0shuagraham
www.twitter.com/J0shuaGraham

www.ianalex.com
facebook: http://on.fb.me/IanAlex
www.twitter.com/IanAlex77

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Joshua at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

1 people like this post.

Review: Darkness of Day – R. J. Terrell

Sunday, February 3rd, 2013
E-Book – 302 Pages
Publisher: Tal Publishing (January 28, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order e-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Jelani – A young Software/Game tester
Daniel – His best Friend
Saaya – A special breed of Vampire
Kafeel – Brother to Saaya

Synopsis:

Jelani is back, and is feeling rather weird. Something has happened since we last saw him, and now he’s forced to adjust to a new “life”. Meanwhile, he, Daniel, Wen, and Alysha are still in danger from a Hunter Vampire.

Review:

Mr. Terrell’s writing continues to grow stronger with each outing. In this his combat scenes of which there are many are breathtaking. I could visualize the action taking place on the screen. The characters are showing growth, particularly in the character of Jelani who is facing major life changes.

The plot is intricately woven and keeps me wondering what is going to happen in the end, and it’s an ending I both anticipate and will regret when it occurs. Mr. Terrell left plenty of cliffhangers in the story to make one want to pick up the next, and I can hardly wait to find out how they are resolved.

If you are a fan of paranormal fiction, vampires, and just fantasy stories in general, give Mr. Terrell’s series a try, I think you’ll like it. If you do, be sure to stop by and tell us what you thought.

About the Author:

R. J. Terrell was instantly a lover of fantasy the day he opened R. A. Salvatore’s: The Crystal Shard. Years (and many devoured books) later he decided to put pen to paper for his first novel. After a bout with aching carpals, he decided to try the keyboard instead, and the words began to flow. When not writing, he enjoys reading, videogames, and long walks with his wife around Stanley Park in Vancouver BC.

Connect with me at:

R J Terrell on Facebook

RJTerrell on Twitter

R. J. Terrell on Goodreads

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to the Author for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.


Review: Children of the Fog – Cheryl Kaye Tardif

Thursday, September 6th, 2012
Paperback: 278 pages
Imajin Books (March 22, 2011)
English
ISBN-10: 098663106X
ISBN-13: 978-0986631061
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

The Fog – Child Kidnapper
Sadie O’Connell – Mother going through marital and drinking problems.
Sam O’Connell – 5 Year old son of Sadie.
Leah Winters – Sadie’s best friend.
Philip O’Connell – Husband to Sadie, their marriage is fractured.

Synopsis:

As a parent how would you react if your child was kidnapped. What would you do if you were forced to allow it to happen. That is what happens with Sadie O’Connell one night when she enters her son’s bedroom and finds him in the arms of serial kidnapper the Fog. A fight ensues, Sadie is injured, and The Fog with gun pressed against Sam’s neck threatens to send him back to her in pieces if she tells the cops what he looks like.

Review

This was an emotionally driven tale. At some points you think it’s a tale of a mother’s love, at other times a thriller, and still other times a supernatural tale. There were times with the character of Sadie that I wanted to slap the snot out of her, and other times I felt really sad for her.

The characters are very well crafted, they draw out the intended emotions, and there are many twists and turns in the storyline as the pages are turned. It’s not quite like any other book I’ve read, so it’s hard to say if you like x author you’ll like this, but if you’re a fan of dramatic stories, thrillers or the like, then pick this up. I think you’ll really enjoy it. It was my first time reading something from this author, but she’ll definitely bring me back for more of her writing.

If I’d write it, I’d say for extremely adult situations, some language, and violence that it would be rated PG-13 or above. Definitely not for younger or more immature readers.

About the Author

Cheryl Kaye Tardif is a Canadian author, whose is best known for Whale Song, which is now available in its third edition, the 2010 ebook edition.

Whale Song, an emotional mystery that explores controversial issues like assisted suicide, school bullies and racism, has captured the attention of numerous film companies. A screenplay, which Cheryl wrote with co-writer Alison Neuman, was completed in 2006, along with a movie treatment.

Cheryl is now in negotiations with a respected film producer/director.

The 2007 paperback edition of Whale Song went out of print as of February 1, 2009. All rights have been returned to the author.

In 2009, Cheryl branched off into romance with her debut romantic suspense Lancelot’s Lady, which will be released as an ebook in late September 2010. Since romance is a different genre from Cheryl’s usual suspense/thrillers and YA, she wrote Lancelot’s Lady under the pen name of Cherish D’Angelo. Lancelot’s Lady was a semi-finalist in the Dorchester Publishing Next Best Celler contest hosted by Textnovel. It also won an Editor’s Choice award from Textnovel in 2010.

A novelette of suspense titled Remote Control was released in ebook edition in July 2010; and a collection of stories titled Skeletons in the Closet & Other Creepy Stories is slated for release in August 2010.

In September 2005, Cheryl’s gripping action-packed techno-thriller The River was released. This carefully researched novel explores the mysterious Nahanni River area, nanotechnology and man’s obsession with longevity. The River has been compared to works by Michael Crichton, James Patterson, Dean Koontz and Dan Brown.

Cheryl is also the author of the 2004 “sizzling psychic suspense” Divine Intervention, a ‘psi-fi’ suspense thriller (or paranormal romance) that has been compared to works by authors such as Iris Johansen, Kay Hooper and Nora Roberts/J.D. Robb’s ‘In Death’ series.

All of these novels have made Amazon.com’s bestsellers list.

In 2006, Cheryl Kaye Tardif participated in a hilarious new TV series ‘A Total Write-Off’, hosted by comedian Barbara North. In 2004, Cheryl was nominated for the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Award. In 2003, she wrote a public service announcement for a racial harmony campaign. Her PSA script, One Voice ~ One World, placed third and was produced and aired on cable channels in Alberta.

Cheryl has not only held hundreds of book signings, she has organized multi-author signings, held a virtual book tour and taught others how to do their own, and she has presented at conferences in Canada and the US. Cheryl is known amongst her peers for her creativity and knowledge regarding book marketing, and in 2009 she embarked on a new venture as a Book Marketing Coach. She is a member of various social networks, including Twitter, Facebook, MySpace, Goodreads, Shelfari, LibraryThing, AmazonConnect and Chapters Online Community.

Cheryl has been interviewed by numerous TV and radio stations in Canada and the US, and she has been featured in a variety of newspapers and magazines in both countries. According to photojournalist, Heather Andrews Miller, who interviewed the author for a Real Estate Weekly article, Cheryl is a “gem in the literary world”. And according to Graham Hicks of the Edmonton Sun, “Cheryl Kaye Tardif specializes in mile-a-minute pot-boiler mysteries, usually set in Western Canadian locales.”

As a teen, Cheryl was a journalist with a weekly newspaper column. Years later, she completed a course in Journalism and Short Story Writing and graduated with Highest Honors. She has worked as a motivational speaker for a respected international company, written material for a number of companies, and worked as a consultant in telemarketing, sales and promotion. But writing fiction with passion and vision is her dream.

Cheryl has completed her next novel, Children of the Fog, a terrifying suspense that asks, “how far are you willing to go for your child?” She has also completed Divine Justice, the second in the Divine mystery series, and has started another thriller, plus a YA novel, Finding Bliss, the first novel to be written on the iPhone 3G using the Notes application.

Born in Vancouver, BC, Cheryl Kaye Tardif was a “military brat” and a “military wife” who has lived all across Canada and in Bermuda. Now residing in Edmonton, AB, with her husband Marc, daughter Jessica and the family dog, she is an author that Booklist calls “a big hit in Canada…a name to reckon with south of the border”.

Cheryl is a member of the following associations:

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Author for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

1 people like this post.

Review: Hunter’s Moon – R. J. Terrell

Thursday, August 16th, 2012
Publisher: Tal Publishing
Publication date: 8/8/2012
Order e-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Jelani – A young Software/Game tester
Daniel – His best Friend

Review

This novel comes close on the heels of Mr. Terrell’s first entry into the Vampire phenomenon. We once again see the characters we came to know in Running From the Night. This time they are in danger from even more Hunters. A new threat is exposed. The reader also gets a glimpse into the “government” of the Vampires.

I found this one like it’s predecessor to keep me glued to the page, I really like the characters and some of the things I was critical about in the first book were cleared up in this one. It was a very tight story, with interesting characters, and a lot of action.

There were also many unexpected events that left me with that “Oh Wow, Did he really just do that.” feeling with the various characters. Their lives are fun, and they (despite being hunted by Vampires) I think would be fun people to hang out with.

If you are into Action, Fantasy, Vampire Stories or just good survival against all odds books, give Hunters Moon a chance. I think you’ll like the the world that Mr. Terrell created for you.
About the Author

R. J. Terrell was instantly a lover of fantasy the day he opened R. A. Salvatore’s: The Crystal Shard. Years (and many devoured books) later he decided to put pen to paper for his first novel. After a bout with aching carpals, he decided to try the keyboard instead, and the words began to flow. When not writing, he enjoys reading, videogames, and long walks with his wife around Stanley Park in Vancouver BC.

Connect with me at:

R J Terrell on Facebook

RJTerrell on Twitter

R. J. Terrell on Goodreads

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to the Author for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

2 people like this post.

Review: Running From the Night – Ramon Terrell

Friday, April 13th, 2012
 
File Size: 448 KB
Publisher: Tal Publishing (April 5, 2012)
Language: English
Order e-book here:

amazon

Characters:

Jelani – A young Software/Game tester
Daniel – His best Friend

Review

I don’t typically do Vampires. For that fact, neither does this author, but Running From the Night represents R.J. Terrells foray into the vampire realm. Following on the heels of his fantasy Trilogy Legend of Takashaniel, Mr. Terrell has once again brought us into a different world while leaving us simultaneously in the same world.

The characters were well developed, and as a reader I found myself concerned with their fates. The characters not only have to worry about vampires trying to kill them, but deal with real world issues such as girlfriends and spurned lovers. I found the character of Saaya’s background to be very interesting as well and look forward to finding out more about her.

There were some technical issues such as characters mirroring movements that at times were a bit distractive. It seemed to work in some scenes for example combat, and when they were involved in tai chi, but didn’t seem to carry over strongly into more mundane actions.

Overall though, I was really pulled into it and wanted to see more. I have a feeling that all hell is going to be unleashed, and I want ringside seats. For his first journey into Vampire stories, I’d say Mr. Terrell did very well indeed and I will definitely be waiting for the next installment.

About the Author

R. J. Terrell was instantly a lover of fantasy the day he opened R. A. Salvatore’s: The Crystal Shard. Years (and many devoured books) later he decided to put pen to paper for his first novel. After a bout with aching carpals, he decided to try the keyboard instead, and the words began to flow. When not writing, he enjoys reading, videogames, and long walks with his wife around Stanley Park in Vancouver BC.

Connect with me at:

R J Terrell on Facebook

RJTerrell on Twitter

R. J. Terrell on Goodreads

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Mr. Terrell who provided a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

5 people like this post.