Welcome to our website. This site is here to provide a community for all you book lovers. I've set up a discussion area for you to discuss your favorite books. We'll have reviews of old and new books in the Reviews section. Upcoming titles and information from major publishers will be listed in the news/home page section, as well as updates on when new reviews have been posted, community information, etc.

If you see a book, and would like to purchase it, or browse for one you're interested in, we have a store front set up through Amazon. Also, each review will have a link to that particular title on Amazon. Per pending federal regulations I need to disclose that I will get a small payment from Amazon should you purchase a book. Also any books provided as review copies will be noted, all others were purchased.

Review: Too Safe for Strangers – Robert Kahn

Posted on: July 2nd, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Too Safe For Strangers
Paperback: 24 pages
Publisher: Future Horizons (October 1, 2001)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1885477759
ISBN-13: 978-9781885477750
Order book here:

amazon

Review

This is a children’s book, so any review for it will have to be pretty brief. It features the characters of Bobby and Mandee. They help the parent through the story tell their child about strangers. What a stranger is? The difference in good and bad strangers, and what to do and not do with strangers. While I don’t have kids, I felt this book could be very help. The author, Deputy Sherriff Robert Kahn manages to deliver all the information, and along with the illustrations by Sue Lynn Cotton, provides a story that I think could be very helpful.

At the end of the book you can find checklists, a coloring page, a safety test, and 911 tips for parents. So check out Too Safe for Strangers, or buy it for a gift for the parents of small children in your life.

About the Author

Robert Kahn has a Master’s Degree in Education. It was during Kahn’s tenure as a sixth grade teacher that he became concerned about the safety issues that involve children and decided to become a Deputy Sheriff to help educate and protect our youth from harm. He started a Stranger Danger program in local schools and community service organizations. Local law enforcement credits this program in foiling over 40 attempted abductions by strangers. To-date, Robert has given over 20,000 presentations covering 15 different topics on children’s safety issues.

Kahn’s mission is to keep all kids safe, but he can’t be everywhere at the same time. So, with the insight and knowledge gained from his experiences, Kahn began to write a series of children’s safety books. His first book, Bobby and Mandee’s Too Safe for Strangers, is based on his program. His other safety books help children learn how to deal with today’s problems.

All of his books are told in the voice of his own children, Bobby and Mandee! Kahn’s daughter Mandee is the main character although Bobby plays a very important role in the books. As a high-functioning autistic, “If he can understand the books, anybody can!” Kahn stresses the books simplicity so that anyone can benefit from them. Using simple language, the books introduce the concepts and then provide tips on how to deal with them.

The main age when something happens to a child is second grade through young adult. As kids start doing more things alone, it is imperative that they know how to help themselves to stay safe. The goal of the Bobby and Mandee Safety Series is to provide parents, educators and other trusted adults with essential information to share with our precious children to keep them safe in today’s world.

For more information, visit www.bobbyandmandee.com

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Rebecca at Cadence Marketing for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Cancer Solution – Jack C. Westman

Posted on: June 30th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
The Cancer Solution
Paperback: 310 pages
Publisher: ArchwayPublishing (January 15, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1480813087
ISBN-13: 978-9781480813083
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Review

Books such as this are difficult for me to review. Like most of us, I’ve lost people I love to cancer. So going into this, it was a hard book for me to read. But I’m glad I did, for the information within it, could be very beneficial to those going through cancer, or who have loved ones battling cancer.

The book covers many different aspects of the cancer journey. The first chapter covers all the conventional cancer treatments. There is a chapter covering the health care system, an area that can be a huge problem for cancer patients, particularly those who may not have adequate health insurance. It then covers a look into cancer, what it is, how it occurs, and the research methods going on. Following that are a few chapters on immunotherapy and nutritional therapy.

The author then wraps up the novel with chapters on where things currently stand, and what the future holds. I think this could be a valuable guide and help to those dealing with his dreadful disease. For that I recommend it, but with the hope that you never have need of it.

About the Author

Dr Jack WestmanDr. Westman holds an M.D. and an M.S. from the University of Michigan. He is Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. He has published extensively on individual differences in children, learning disabilities, child abuse and neglect, child advocacy, family therapy, children’s and parents’ rights and public policy. He has been Editor of Child Psychiatry and Human Development, President of the American Association of Psychiatric Services and President of the Multidisciplinary Academy of Clinical Education. He currently is President of Wisconsin Cares, Inc.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Rebecca Brown at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: LA Rotten – Jeff Klima

Posted on: June 25th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
LA Rotten
Publisher: Alibi (May 12, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order e-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A crime scene cleaner begins noticing a pattern, when he is continuously called to the same hotel room number. He discovers that there is actually a serial killer running amok.

Characters:

Tom Tanner – Crime Scene Cleaner and Heroin addict.
Ivy – A stripper, who involves herself with Tom’s investigation.

Review

I wasn’t sure what to think of this book at first. I didn’t find the protagonist, Tom Tanner very likeble. By the time I got to the end though, I was able to appreciate his growth arc. Tom is dealing with a heroin addiction, while working as a crime cleanup pro, and sidelining for a group that needs him to get rid of bodies. He frequents strip clubs, and just doesn’t appear to be a pleasant person. But as the story progresses, we see him grow, we see the loyalties he holds, and while he may not do so kindly, a lot of the things he does, is out of caring for the other person.

The plotline I found very interesting. A series of murders are occurring at a motel chain. Different branches, but always the same room #. Each of the murders though is made to look like an accident, or a suicide. Tom involves himself in discovering this. Aided in his investigation, though not through any desire of his, is Ivy, a local stripper, and someone Tom doesn’t like so well.

While I was unsure of the story at the beginning, I found myself liking it. The characters were fairly well developed, and much of the book read like a classic private eye novel. I’d rate it as for 17 or older due to a lot of strong language, drug use, and violence. However, for those interested in thrillers, pick this up for a great summer read, and be sure to drop in and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Jeff KlimaJeff Klima spent years in the grime and guts of Southern California as a cofounder of Orange County Crime Scene Cleaners. He is a temporary survivor of Los Angeles and now resides in Ohio, where there is less danger but more corn. Although he’s hard at work on another Tom Tanner mystery, he still finds time to write short bios about himself for the backs of his other books. Also, check out The Dead Janitors Club—that’s a good one.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lisa Munley at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Upstairs Lounge Arson – Clayton Delery -

Posted on: June 23rd, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Upstairs Lounge Arson
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: McFarland (June 5, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0786479531
ISBN-13: 978-9780786479535
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Details the fire, subsequent deaths, and lives involved in the Up Stairs Lounge Arson.

Review

On June 24, 1973 in New Orleans Louisiana, an even occurred that the majority have not heard of. A gay bar caught fire, and 32 lives were lost. But what were the events that led up to this horrific event? Author Clayton Delery-Edwards takes us through that time period in a very honest look.

Mr. Delery-Edwards gives us a look at those 32 who died, some gay, some straight allies. He delves into the political climate of the time. The Fire department actually provided a more detailed case against the perpetrator than did the police. The police it seemed didn’t seem to care, it was just a bunch of gays.

This though, was a very difficult book for me to read. At times, it was so heart-wrenching, that I had to put it aside. But it also didn’t match what I thought going on. While I thought before reading it, that these people were murdered due to their sexuality, it appears that it was not the case.

The book is peppered throughout with historical photographs from the fire, and before the fire. Please note though, that some of the images may not be for the squeamish. However, for me they really helpd bring the whole story and case to reality.

A lot of the book reads more like a true-crime novel than a historical memoir. I found myself, despite the initial emotional turmoil enjoying that aspect of it. The author pulled from police reports, fire reports, newspapers, and personal interviews in providing a clear view the days prior to and preceding the fire.

With Pride Weeks happening all around the country, I felt that it was important to bring attention to this subject. There are still many areas of the country, where crimes against the gay community occur without any penalty, and with little to no concern by those in charge.

If you are a fan of history, are interested in LGBT history, or just want a great look into a crime that was never truly “solved”, then you will enjoy this book. So check it out, drop back by and let us know what you thought of it.

About the Author

Clayton Delery-EdwardsClayton Delery-Edwards is a native of Louisiana who grew up in the New Orleans area. He has a B.A. and an M.A. in English from the University of Louisiana, Lafayette, as well as a Ph.D. from the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. Since 1989 he has been a member of the faculty of the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts, where he currently serves as the Director of Academic Services. He has been interested in the fire since seeing the first news coverage in 1973. He married his husband, Aaron, in a Canadian ceremony in 2008. They live in Natchitoches, Louisiana, with their two dogs, several chickens, and a pond full of gold fish.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Kristal Hamby at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Suspense Magazine – John Raab

Posted on: June 16th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
January Suspense Magazine
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (May 12, 2015)
Language: English
Order e-book here:
amazon

Review

This will be a different type of review, as it doesn’t pertain to a book, but to a magazine about books. The magazine is called Suspense Magazine, and for fans, such as myself, of the Thriller/Mystery type novel, this is a great magazine. In just 90 pages, it packs a ton of stuff to read.

Among the offerings are Short Stories, Articles on the Writing Process, Interviews, Book Reviews, Movie Reviews, book excerpts, and many other articles.

Two of the hightlights for me were A very interesting Article about the differnt conspiracy theories concerning the murder of Abraham Lincoln. Another interesting article in the issue I reviewed, was a section related to the book Face Off, in which John Lescroart and T. Jefferson Parker discuss the use of prologues in fiction.

There is even an area where potential suspense authors can submit their work. In that way, it reminds me a lot of favorites from many years ago such as Alfred Hitchcock Magazine and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.

If you are a writer of suspense, love the writing process, or just love novels of suspense, you should check out Suspense Magazine at bookstores or online. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Gina at Partners in Crime for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Past Crimes – Glen Erik Hamilton

Posted on: May 12th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (March 3, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062344552
ISBN-13: 978-0062344557
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to William Morrow at Danielle for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Cat, The Devil, and the Last Escape – Shirley Rousseau & Pat J. Murphy

Posted on: May 7th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062269100
ISBN-13: 978-0062269102
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Joanne at William Morrow for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Forgetting Place – John Burley

Posted on: May 5th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
The Forgetting Place
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062227408
ISBN-13: 978-0062227409
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A young woman is employed as a psychiatrist at an asylum. Her world is changed when a young man named Jason is admitted to the hospital. Jason has a tale to tell about a terrorist group, the FBI, and the CIA. She soon finds that someone wants her dead to keep this information quiet.

Characters:

Lise Shields – A Young psychiatrist.
Jason Edwards – A patient of Lise’s.

Review

The author with this really managed to keep me guessing. Was Jason honest, or were his stories the product of a disturbed mind. That is where one of the strongest aspects of this novel come in, how it treats the subject of mental illness. Part of this is addressed through Jason, but other parts are told through Lise’s memories of her Uncle Jim. Uncle Jim is a character I could relate to. While I’m not sure of the diagnosis I went through similar things to Lise with a member of my family when I was 13 or so. The symptoms were very much like Uncle Jim’s. Paranoia and thinking everyone was out to get them. So this storyline hit very close to home for me, and I can attest to the author’s accuracy in telling it, and his compassion in treating it with such respect.

The characters are all extremely well developed, and for the main characters, we get to see a lot of their background. Parts of the story keep flipping to the past, so we can see events as they play out. That I think was a nice touch. Overall the novel was beautifully written, and one I could see definitely becoming a hit on the silver screen.

I would rate it as PG-13 due to acts of violence, and some language. For those wanting a well written, psychological thriller with the emphasis on psyche, you definitely want to pick this up, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

John BurleyJohn Burley was born in Baltimore, Maryland and grew up near the Chesapeake Bay. Following high school, he attended University of Maryland, graduating with Bachelor of Science degrees in psychology and physiology.

During his undergraduate years, John also trained as a paramedic/firefighter and served for many years in that capacity in a busy 911 jurisdiction in Montgomery County, Maryland, just north of Washington, D.C. He later completed a Master of Science program in medical pathology and attended medical school in Chicago, earning his Doctor of Medicine from Rosalind Franklin University before returning to Baltimore to complete an emergency medicine residency training program at University of Maryland Medical Center and Shock Trauma.

After graduating from residency, John moved to California, where he began work on his first novel. Four years later, the manuscript was purchased by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins. The Absence of Mercy was published in November of 2013. It received the National Black Ribbon Award in recognition of an author who brings a fresh, new voice to suspense writing.

John currently lives in the San Francisco Bay area where he works as an emergency department physician. His second novel, The Forgetting Place , is scheduled for release on February 10, 2015.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Danielle at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Blood Music – Jessie Prichard Hunter

Posted on: April 30th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Blood Music
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (April 7, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062389270
ISBN-13: 978-0062389275
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A killer with a fascination with classical music is killing and raping women. Three people along with the cops become involved in trying to figure out who this killer is and stopping him before he kills again.

Characters:

Zelly Wyche – A young woman who has an almost dangerous obsession with serial killers.
John Nassent – A man whose sister was killed by a serial killer.
Madeleine Levy – A near victim of a serial killer, who managed to escape his clutches.

Review

This novel grabbed me from the very beginning. I could relate to the various characters. The character of Zelly, obsessed with serial killers, and always talking to anyone who’ll listen about them. John Nasent, whose sister was killed by the serial killer in this story, and is bent on avenging her. Then there is Margaret, who just narrowly escaped but is still shattered psychologically.

The author was a bit out of the box, I think on this story, as you know very soon into the novel who the killer is. But the big draw is watching all the other characters and their reactions as they begin to piece together the crimes, and figure it all out.

The scenes of the crimes themselves while violent aren’t as over the top as they could be. Even the fringe characters have full personalities and are not your typical stock characters. You also get to look back into the killer’s life, his childhood, and how he became a killer.

Overall a great psychological thriller that will keep you turning pages. If you’re a fan of the Psycho-Thriller, than you definitely want to pick this one up, and be sure to drop back by and let us known what you thought.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Larissa at Claire Mckinney PR for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Blood Infernal – James Rollins

Posted on: April 28th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Blood Infernal
Hardcover: 416 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062343262
ISBN-13: 978-0062343260
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A dark force is released and wreaking havoc amongst the sanguines and mortals. A string of grisly murders occurring around the world brings together Jordan Stone, Rhun Korza, and Erin Granger to once again save the world. But this time, the evil may be too much for even them to handle.

Characters:

Jordan Stone – Military Forensic Expert and The Warrior of Man
Father Rhun Korza – Vatican Priest and the Knight of Christ
Dr. Erin Granger – Archaologist and the Woman of Learning.

Review

This is billed as the final entry in the Order of the Sanguines series, which really is a shame because it’s the one series of James Rollins I personally have enjoyed the most. I like the action and the mythology that is incorporated into the storylines.

As usual within this, there were a lot of twists, turns, and cliffhangers. There were holy betrayals, and allies you’d never expect. With a force as evil as what they go up against, one has to wonder if they will make it out alive. To answer that question, you’ll just have to pick up Blood Infernal.

If there were one drawback to it, it would be a subplot involving a character from the past novel(s). That storyline never really seems to fit into the whole of this story, and seems as if it was throne in just to include the character. If that part were left out, I think the story would have functioned just the same.

If I were to rate this on my usual scale, I would rate it for 18 or older. The reasoning behind it is because of a lot of the violence, some language, and adult situations. But if you’re a fan of Mr. Rollins, a Fan of the Sanguines series, or just a fan of Paranormal Fantasy in general, than you definitely want to check out the final entry in the Sanguines trilogy. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

James Rollins is the New York Times bestselling author of thrillers translated into forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the “top crowd pleasers” (New York Times) and one of the “hottest summer reads” (People magazine).

Acclaimed for his originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets—and he does it all at breakneck speed. Find James Rollins on Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter, and at www.jamesrollins.com.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Danielle at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.