Welcome to our website. This site is here to provide a community for all you book lovers. I've set up a discussion area for you to discuss your favorite books. We'll have reviews of old and new books in the Reviews section. Upcoming titles and information from major publishers will be listed in the news/home page section, as well as updates on when new reviews have been posted, community information, etc.

If you see a book, and would like to purchase it, or browse for one you're interested in, we have a store front set up through Amazon. Also, each review will have a link to that particular title on Amazon. Per pending federal regulations I need to disclose that I will get a small payment from Amazon should you purchase a book. Also any books provided as review copies will be noted, all others were purchased.

Review: Past Crimes – Glen Erik Hamilton

Posted on: May 12th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (March 3, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062344552
ISBN-13: 978-0062344557
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to William Morrow at Danielle for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Cat, The Devil, and the Last Escape – Shirley Rousseau & Pat J. Murphy

Posted on: May 7th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062269100
ISBN-13: 978-0062269102
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Joanne at William Morrow for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Forgetting Place – John Burley

Posted on: May 5th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
The Forgetting Place
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062227408
ISBN-13: 978-0062227409
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A young woman is employed as a psychiatrist at an asylum. Her world is changed when a young man named Jason is admitted to the hospital. Jason has a tale to tell about a terrorist group, the FBI, and the CIA. She soon finds that someone wants her dead to keep this information quiet.

Characters:

Lise Shields – A Young psychiatrist.
Jason Edwards – A patient of Lise’s.

Review

The author with this really managed to keep me guessing. Was Jason honest, or were his stories the product of a disturbed mind. That is where one of the strongest aspects of this novel come in, how it treats the subject of mental illness. Part of this is addressed through Jason, but other parts are told through Lise’s memories of her Uncle Jim. Uncle Jim is a character I could relate to. While I’m not sure of the diagnosis I went through similar things to Lise with a member of my family when I was 13 or so. The symptoms were very much like Uncle Jim’s. Paranoia and thinking everyone was out to get them. So this storyline hit very close to home for me, and I can attest to the author’s accuracy in telling it, and his compassion in treating it with such respect.

The characters are all extremely well developed, and for the main characters, we get to see a lot of their background. Parts of the story keep flipping to the past, so we can see events as they play out. That I think was a nice touch. Overall the novel was beautifully written, and one I could see definitely becoming a hit on the silver screen.

I would rate it as PG-13 due to acts of violence, and some language. For those wanting a well written, psychological thriller with the emphasis on psyche, you definitely want to pick this up, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

John BurleyJohn Burley was born in Baltimore, Maryland and grew up near the Chesapeake Bay. Following high school, he attended University of Maryland, graduating with Bachelor of Science degrees in psychology and physiology.

During his undergraduate years, John also trained as a paramedic/firefighter and served for many years in that capacity in a busy 911 jurisdiction in Montgomery County, Maryland, just north of Washington, D.C. He later completed a Master of Science program in medical pathology and attended medical school in Chicago, earning his Doctor of Medicine from Rosalind Franklin University before returning to Baltimore to complete an emergency medicine residency training program at University of Maryland Medical Center and Shock Trauma.

After graduating from residency, John moved to California, where he began work on his first novel. Four years later, the manuscript was purchased by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins. The Absence of Mercy was published in November of 2013. It received the National Black Ribbon Award in recognition of an author who brings a fresh, new voice to suspense writing.

John currently lives in the San Francisco Bay area where he works as an emergency department physician. His second novel, The Forgetting Place , is scheduled for release on February 10, 2015.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Danielle at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Blood Music – Jessie Prichard Hunter

Posted on: April 30th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Blood Music
Paperback: 320 pages
Publisher: Witness Impulse (April 7, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062389270
ISBN-13: 978-0062389275
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A killer with a fascination with classical music is killing and raping women. Three people along with the cops become involved in trying to figure out who this killer is and stopping him before he kills again.

Characters:

Zelly Wyche – A young woman who has an almost dangerous obsession with serial killers.
John Nassent – A man whose sister was killed by a serial killer.
Madeleine Levy – A near victim of a serial killer, who managed to escape his clutches.

Review

This novel grabbed me from the very beginning. I could relate to the various characters. The character of Zelly, obsessed with serial killers, and always talking to anyone who’ll listen about them. John Nasent, whose sister was killed by the serial killer in this story, and is bent on avenging her. Then there is Margaret, who just narrowly escaped but is still shattered psychologically.

The author was a bit out of the box, I think on this story, as you know very soon into the novel who the killer is. But the big draw is watching all the other characters and their reactions as they begin to piece together the crimes, and figure it all out.

The scenes of the crimes themselves while violent aren’t as over the top as they could be. Even the fringe characters have full personalities and are not your typical stock characters. You also get to look back into the killer’s life, his childhood, and how he became a killer.

Overall a great psychological thriller that will keep you turning pages. If you’re a fan of the Psycho-Thriller, than you definitely want to pick this one up, and be sure to drop back by and let us known what you thought.

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Larissa at Claire Mckinney PR for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Blood Infernal – James Rollins

Posted on: April 28th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Blood Infernal
Hardcover: 416 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062343262
ISBN-13: 978-0062343260
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A dark force is released and wreaking havoc amongst the sanguines and mortals. A string of grisly murders occurring around the world brings together Jordan Stone, Rhun Korza, and Erin Granger to once again save the world. But this time, the evil may be too much for even them to handle.

Characters:

Jordan Stone – Military Forensic Expert and The Warrior of Man
Father Rhun Korza – Vatican Priest and the Knight of Christ
Dr. Erin Granger – Archaologist and the Woman of Learning.

Review

This is billed as the final entry in the Order of the Sanguines series, which really is a shame because it’s the one series of James Rollins I personally have enjoyed the most. I like the action and the mythology that is incorporated into the storylines.

As usual within this, there were a lot of twists, turns, and cliffhangers. There were holy betrayals, and allies you’d never expect. With a force as evil as what they go up against, one has to wonder if they will make it out alive. To answer that question, you’ll just have to pick up Blood Infernal.

If there were one drawback to it, it would be a subplot involving a character from the past novel(s). That storyline never really seems to fit into the whole of this story, and seems as if it was throne in just to include the character. If that part were left out, I think the story would have functioned just the same.

If I were to rate this on my usual scale, I would rate it for 18 or older. The reasoning behind it is because of a lot of the violence, some language, and adult situations. But if you’re a fan of Mr. Rollins, a Fan of the Sanguines series, or just a fan of Paranormal Fantasy in general, than you definitely want to check out the final entry in the Sanguines trilogy. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

James Rollins is the New York Times bestselling author of thrillers translated into forty languages. His Sigma series has been lauded as one of the “top crowd pleasers” (New York Times) and one of the “hottest summer reads” (People magazine).

Acclaimed for his originality, Rollins unveils unseen worlds, scientific breakthroughs, and historical secrets—and he does it all at breakneck speed. Find James Rollins on Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter, and at www.jamesrollins.com.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Danielle at Harper Collins for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Officer Elvis – Gary Gusick

Posted on: April 23rd, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Officer Elvis
Publisher: Alibi (April 21, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order e-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Someone in Mississippi doesn’t seem to like people impersonating the King. In fact it’s disliked so much, that these impersonators are getting knocked off one by one. Lieutenant Darla Cavanaugh needs to find out who and why, before more are killed.

Characters:

Lieutenant Darla Cavanaugh – Member of the Mississippi Bureau of Investigation.
Rita Gibbons – Darla’s partner, and a big Elvis fan.

Review

The story begins with Tommy Reylander, known to the people in his town as Officer Elvis, performing a show in a senior center. We get to see how obsessed he was, from the expensive jumpsuits, to making his girlfriend look like Priscilla, and even calling her Cilla. Everything about him oozed Elvis. As he leaves in his Pink Cadillac, he is blown up, and marked Return to Sender.

The case is given to Darla Cavanaugh who requests Rita Gibbons for her partner. At first they think it’s a personal vendetta, but when a second impersonator is killed, leaving them All Shook Up, they determine that it’s probably a serial killer.

Their investigation leads them all over Mississippi and the surrounding areas, meeting various Elvis Impersonators, scummy business men, and obsessed fans. The ride along with them is quite entertaining and the author really captured the feel of the southern lifestyle I felt. The plot was very creative, who hasn’t found some of the less than stellar Elvis impersonators annoying.

Overall I found it to be an enjoyable story, with a huge twist that felt true to the whole Elvis story. So if you enjoy some rather lighthearted thrillers, Don’t be Cruel and pick up a copy of Officer Elvis. Be sure and stop back by and let us know what you thought. Thank you. Thank you very much.

About the Author

Gary Gusick Gary Gusick is a former advertising executive with more than thirty years experience as a copywriter and creative director. He is a winner of numerous national and international awards for creative excellence in advertising. The Last Clinic is his first novel.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lisa at TLC Book Tours for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

1 people like this post.

Review: A Feast for Crows – George R. R. Martin

Posted on: April 21st, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
 A Feast of Crows
Mass Market Paperback: 1104 pages
Publisher: Bantam (September 26, 2006)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 055358202X
ISBN-13: 978-0553582024
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

The never-ending struggle for the Iron Throne continues throughout Westeros with forces coming from all directions to claim it for themselves. Who will survive A Feast for Crows.

Characters:

Jon Snow – Illegitimate son of Ned Stark, Member of the Night’s Watch.
Sansa Stark – Oldest Daughter of Ned Stark
Arianne Martell – Princess of Dorne, and oldest child of Doran Martell.

Review

This was originally going to be one book. However, it was so large, that George R. R. Martin decided to split it into two books, this volume, and the companion volume Dances with Dragons. Each books focuses on half the characters, and one side of the world. In this case, it’s the people in and round Westeros.

A Large part of this novel focuses on the people of Dorne. Up until this point, we the readers haven’t seen much of Dorne. We’ve seen Oberyn Martell rather briefly in A Storm of Swords. This time we see many of his children, siblings, etc. This to me was one of the more interesting aspects to this story. I loved the daughters of Oberyn. The one aspect of the story that didn’t appeal to me, was the storyline with Arianne Martel and Myrcella Baratheon. Even after reading the whole series, I have no clue what that whole section was about.

Cersei Lannister in King’s Landing is facing problems of her own. A religious fundamentalist group has began a rise to power, and they aren’t very happy about her past behaviors. This storyline I rather liked, because after all her machinations in previous novels, she finally gets a bit of payback for her behaviors. Karma is indeed a bitter companion.

Arya Stark has arrived in Braavos and is beginning her training in the ways of Black and White. She’s fascinated with the thoughts of revenge and killing those who hurt her family. It may be the dark side of my soul, but I find her to be one of the more interesting characters in the whole series.

But in true Martin fashion, those are just some of the story threads you’ll read about in Feast of Crows. There are plenty more. Overall, this wasn’t my favorite book of the whole series. It just seemed to drag at times, and while it introduced a lot of new and interesting characters and places, nothing really seemed to move forward much.

If you’ve been reading A Song of Fire and Ice though, you’ll need to read this. If you haven’t, you’re really missing out. It’s a great fantasy series and while long winded and confusing in parts, takes you on a great ride. Definitely check it out, and stop by and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

George R.R. Martin sold his first story in 1971 and has been writing professionally since then. He spent ten years in Hollywood as a writer-producer, working on The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and various feature films and television pilots that were never made.

In the mid ’90s he returned to prose, his first love, and began work on his epic fantasy series, A Song of Ice and Fire.

He has been in the Seven Kingdoms ever since. Whenever he’s allowed to leave, he returns to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he lives with the lovely Parris, and two cats named Augustus and Caligula, who think they run the place.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Unelmoija – Elle Boca

Posted on: April 16th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Unelmoija - The Dream Shifter
Print Length: 208 pages
Publisher: Poyeen Publishing (November 24, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order e-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A young girl begins on a journey of discovery. What is she discovering? That she’s no mere human, but something known as a Weeia, with very special powers. But then she finds out there are those wanting to kill her because of those powers.

Characters:

Amy McKnight – A young woman discovering her special abilities.
Thomas McKnight – Amy’s Father and one of the most powerful Weeia’s.
Duncan Bittersdorp – A young man about Amy’s age, with a different set of powers.

Review

I don’t typically read a lot of Urban Fantasies. When the opportunity comes along, I’ll read them, but they aren’t something I’ve typically gone out of my way to find. I’m not sure why, because when I’ve read them, I’ve enjoyed them. But when it comes to fantasy, I’m more of a classical Lord of the Rings fantasy fan. That being said though, I really appreciate the genre, and Unelmoija is no exception.

Elle Boca seems to follow the classic Hero’s journey model. The role of the reluctant adventurer is filled nicely by Amy. The mentor figure is in the guise of Duncan Bittersdorp, he becomes a kind of Obi-Wan Kenobi to Amy, teaching her about the Weeia, her powers, the political organization of her people, etc.

Along her journey, Amy is met with many dangers, some life threatening, some emotionally devastating. But it’s watching her journey, and her growth and acceptance of her powers that draws you along through the story. As this is the first chapter in a 5 books series, I’m not completely sure of the overall plot as of yet. The author leaves a lot of questions at the end. Why are they trying to kill Amy, and who are they? Is her father, a good guy, or evil personified. Like you, I’ll simply have to read the next novel in the series to find out.

If you are a fan of Urban Fantasy, and the idea of Vampires and Werewolves leave you with Not another one, then you’ll find this a refreshing story. It comes across as more of a female superhero story, with her, much like young Peter Parker, discovering the extent of her power and what having them means to her future. So for all you Urban Fantasy fans out there, check out Unelmoija: Dreamshifter. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Elle Boca Elle is the author of the Miami Weeia urban fantasy series about superhumans. Growing up the only child of a monkey mother and a rabbit father she learned to keep herself entertained and spend time reading.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Elle for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: How to Tell if Your Cat is Plotting to Kill You – The Oatmeal

Posted on: April 14th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
How to Tell If Your Cat is Plotting to Kill You
Paperback: 136 pages
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing; Pap/Pstr edition (October 9, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1449410243
ISBN-13: 978-1449410247
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Review

Anyone that has ever owned a cat, will find things to chuckle at in this book. From signs on how to tell your cat is trying to kill you, to cartoons about cats at work. Some of the jokes are much funnier than others, but they all strike a chord of truthfulness. For yourself as a cat lover, or for the cat lover in your life, you definitely want to check this book out. Be warned though, there are some comic bits with very strong language, so this is definitely for adults.

About the Author

Brilliantly whimsical yet oddly informative, TheOatmeal.com is an entertainment Web site full of comics, quizzes, and stories. The site gets more than 5 million unique page views a month; 250,000 blogs and Web sites have linked to it. TheOatmeal.com is written, drawn, and coded by Matthew Inman, a king of all trades when it comes to the Web. Matthew lives in Seattle, Washington. He subsists on a steady diet of crickets and whiskey. He enjoys long walks on the beach, gravity, and breathing heavily through his mouth. His dislikes include scurvy, typhoons, and tapeworm medication.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: A Ghostly Grave – Tonya Kappes

Posted on: April 9th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
A Ghostly Grave
Mass Market Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: Witness (March 31, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062374818
ISBN-13: 978-0062374813
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:
There’s a ghost on the loose—and a fox in the henhouse

Four years ago, the Eternal Slumber Funeral Home put Chicken Teater in the ground. Now undertaker Emma Lee Raines is digging him back up. The whole scene is bad for business, especially with her granny running for mayor and a big festival setting up in town. But ever since Emma Lee started seeing ghosts, Chicken’s been pestering her to figure out who killed him.

With her handsome boyfriend, Sheriff Jack Henry Ross, busy getting new forensics on the old corpse, Emma Lee has time to look into her first suspect. Chicken’s widow may be a former Miss Kentucky, but the love of his life was another beauty queen: Lady Cluckington, his prize-winning hen. Was Mrs. Teater the jealous type? Chicken seems to think so. Something’s definitely rotten in Sleepy Hollow—and Emma Lee just prays it’s not her luck.

Characters:

Colonel Chicken Teater – Deceased wealthy landownwer and prize chicken owner.
Emma Raines – Undertaker, Amateur detective, and in betweener.

Review

This is the second novel in the author’s Ghostly Southern Mystery Series. Let me start by saying that I’m loving this series. The characters are quirky and fun. The plots are not overly complicated. The entire story is written with a great sense of humor.

It’s great fun to follow along with Emma, as she tries to communicate with the dead, without everyone thinking she’s lost her mind. A subplot to this story is that of her grandmother running for mayor.

Each character in itself is well designed, and has it’s own separate personality. Chicken Teater for instance, even though dead, still has a longing for Sweet Tea.

I think this book and series would find a great audience with those who love Cozy Mysteries. While there is a little violence it’s not way over the top, so I’d rate this as PG-13 for teens and older.

But it’s definitely on my recommend list, and I look forward to the next entries as they come out later on this year.

About the Author

Tonya KappesFor years, USA Today bestselling author Tonya Kappes has been self-publishing her numerous mystery and romance titles with unprecedented success. She is famous not only for her hilarious plotlines and quirky characters, but her tremendous marketing efforts that have earned her thousands of followers and a devoted street team of fans.

HarperCollins and Witness Impulse is thrilled to be publishing this insanely talented and wildly successful author for the first time with A GHOSTLY UNDERTAKING (Witness Impulse; February 24, 2015; $7.99 mass market), the first in her hilarious and spooky Ghostly Southern series.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Andrea at Witness/Impulse for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.