Welcome to our website. This site is here to provide a community for all you book lovers. I've set up a discussion area for you to discuss your favorite books. We'll have reviews of old and new books in the Reviews section. Upcoming titles and information from major publishers will be listed in the news/home page section, as well as updates on when new reviews have been posted, community information, etc.

If you see a book, and would like to purchase it, or browse for one you're interested in, we have a store front set up through Amazon. Also, each review will have a link to that particular title on Amazon. Per pending federal regulations I need to disclose that I will get a small payment from Amazon should you purchase a book. Also any books provided as review copies will be noted, all others were purchased.

Stranger Danger – Guest Post – Sheriff Robert Kahn

Posted on: July 30th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes

The way that Bobby and Mandee’s: To Safe For Strangers developed was a fluke.

A reserve deputy and I were requested to teach a latch key class, to 6 children after school. On the way there, we decided to teach “NO, GO TELL”, which was a stranger lesson. The deputy and I were there for 90 mins and we left.

Two days later, the latch key teacher called and told me “you are not going to believe what happened last night. Three of the children, one being my son, were playing in the park while the adults were watching a softball game. A man drove up in a van, walked over to the children and said “HEY KIDS, I HAVE PUPPIES IN MY VAN, WOULD YOU LIKE TO SEE THEM? The children ran off to their parents and told them what had just taken place. I believe if it weren’t for the lesson a few days past, that the children would have gone with the man and more than likely it wouldn’t have had a good ending”.

I went and spoke to the sheriff, about this incident and he responded “let’s develop a pilot program and perfect the stranger danger program for our county.” This was the start of the TOO SAFE FOR STRANGER PROGRAM.

This program became so successful, that I decided to write this book, having the two main characters be my children, Bobby and Mandee.

About the Author:

Bob Kahn has a Master’s Degree in Education. He was a sixth grade teacher for ten years. He became concerned with the drug and gang problems that are plaguing our nation.

He became a D.A.R.E. instructor. While teaching D.A.R.E., he perfected a program he calls “too smart for strangers.” His program has foiled twenty-two stranger abductions. His first book Too Safe for Strangers is based on this program. His other books on children’s safety reflect his knowledge of working with children and helping them deal with today’s problems.

He lives in Nevada with his wife Kandee and two children Bobby and Mandee (of course).

Review: Too Smart for Bullies – Robert Kahn

Posted on: July 30th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Too Smart for Bullies
Paperback: 24 pages
Publisher: Future Horizons (October 1, 2001)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1885477767
ISBN-13: 978-9781885477767
Order book here:

amazon

Review
Bobby and Mandee are back, and this time they are tackling the issue of bullying. Mandee is being bullied by this guy in their neighborhood. Through Bobby helping his sister, your child can learn what bullying is, understand a little about why kids (and adults) bully, and what all can be done about it. Bullying can be a serious problem, as thousands of young people each year take their own life as a result. If your child is facing bullies at their school, on their bus, or anywhere they spend time, you may find this book helpful.

At the end of the book you can find checklists, a coloring page, a safety test, and 911 tips for parents. So check out Too Smart for Bullies, or buy it for a gift for the parents of small children in your life.

About the Author

Robert Kahn has a Master’s Degree in Education. It was during Kahn’s tenure as a sixth grade teacher that he became concerned about the safety issues that involve children and decided to become a Deputy Sheriff to help educate and protect our youth from harm. He started a Stranger Danger program in local schools and community service organizations. Local law enforcement credits this program in foiling over 40 attempted abductions by strangers. To-date, Robert has given over 20,000 presentations covering 15 different topics on children’s safety issues.

Kahn’s mission is to keep all kids safe, but he can’t be everywhere at the same time. So, with the insight and knowledge gained from his experiences, Kahn began to write a series of children’s safety books. His first book, Bobby and Mandee’s Too Safe for Strangers, is based on his program. His other safety books help children learn how to deal with today’s problems.

All of his books are told in the voice of his own children, Bobby and Mandee! Kahn’s daughter Mandee is the main character although Bobby plays a very important role in the books. As a high-functioning autistic, “If he can understand the books, anybody can!” Kahn stresses the books simplicity so that anyone can benefit from them. Using simple language, the books introduce the concepts and then provide tips on how to deal with them.

The main age when something happens to a child is second grade through young adult. As kids start doing more things alone, it is imperative that they know how to help themselves to stay safe. The goal of the Bobby and Mandee Safety Series is to provide parents, educators and other trusted adults with essential information to share with our precious children to keep them safe in today’s world.

For more information, visit www.bobbyandmandee.com

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Rebecca at Cadence Marketing for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Too Safe for Strangers – Robert Kahn

Posted on: July 28th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Too Safe For Strangers
Paperback: 24 pages
Publisher: Future Horizons (October 1, 2001)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1885477759
ISBN-13: 978-9781885477750
Order book here:

amazon

Review

This is a children’s book, so any review for it will have to be pretty brief. It features the characters of Bobby and Mandee. They help the parent through the story tell their child about strangers. What a stranger is? The difference in good and bad strangers, and what to do and not do with strangers. While I don’t have kids, I felt this book could be very help. The author, Deputy Sherriff Robert Kahn manages to deliver all the information, and along with the illustrations by Sue Lynn Cotton, provides a story that I think could be very helpful.

At the end of the book you can find checklists, a coloring page, a safety test, and 911 tips for parents. So check out Too Safe for Strangers, or buy it for a gift for the parents of small children in your life.

About the Author

Robert Kahn has a Master’s Degree in Education. It was during Kahn’s tenure as a sixth grade teacher that he became concerned about the safety issues that involve children and decided to become a Deputy Sheriff to help educate and protect our youth from harm. He started a Stranger Danger program in local schools and community service organizations. Local law enforcement credits this program in foiling over 40 attempted abductions by strangers. To-date, Robert has given over 20,000 presentations covering 15 different topics on children’s safety issues.

Kahn’s mission is to keep all kids safe, but he can’t be everywhere at the same time. So, with the insight and knowledge gained from his experiences, Kahn began to write a series of children’s safety books. His first book, Bobby and Mandee’s Too Safe for Strangers, is based on his program. His other safety books help children learn how to deal with today’s problems.

All of his books are told in the voice of his own children, Bobby and Mandee! Kahn’s daughter Mandee is the main character although Bobby plays a very important role in the books. As a high-functioning autistic, “If he can understand the books, anybody can!” Kahn stresses the books simplicity so that anyone can benefit from them. Using simple language, the books introduce the concepts and then provide tips on how to deal with them.

The main age when something happens to a child is second grade through young adult. As kids start doing more things alone, it is imperative that they know how to help themselves to stay safe. The goal of the Bobby and Mandee Safety Series is to provide parents, educators and other trusted adults with essential information to share with our precious children to keep them safe in today’s world.

For more information, visit www.bobbyandmandee.com

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Rebecca at Cadence Marketing for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Bum Rap – Paul Levine

Posted on: July 16th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Bum Rap
Paperback: 334 pages
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer (July 1, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1477829865
ISBN-13: 978-1477829868
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

NFL linebacker-turned-lawyer Jake Lassiter has had it with shifty clients, dirty prosecutors, and a legal system out of whack. It’s enough to make a man want to leave Miami and never look back—until he gets a call from Victoria Lord, the better half of hot local legal team Solomon & Lord. Her partner in life and law has been arrested for murder. What’s worse: the only person who can clear him has fled the city. Now it’s up to Jake and Victoria to track down the witness—a stunning “Bar girl”—before she’s roped in by the feds…or eliminated by the Russian mob.

Jake knows that if he doesn’t get to the witness first, his client’s case is lost. Luckily, he’s got some good advice from his college football coach: “Buckle your chin strap and hit somebody.” And sometimes, the only way to win a tough case is to do just that.

Characters:

Nadia Delova – Russian Immigrant and only witness to a shooting.
Steve Solomon – A man in prison for killing a Russian Mobster.
Jake Lassiter – Former NFL Player and current lawyer.
Victoria Lord – Jake’s Law Partner, and Steve’s Love Interest.

Review

I love a good Mobster thriller and this one filled that interest. At times I was reminded of the hardboiled heroes such as Mike Hammer and Sam Spade in the character of Jake Lassiter. I was bit disappointed in the character of Victoria Lord as her character seemed to be mostly there for window dressing, and to make a potential triangle for Jake and Steve. I’ve not read previous books, so that may just have been the character in this book, but she was the least memorable.

The plot was pretty strong and interesting, involving white slavery and Jewel Smuggling. As I said, a subplot involves a love triangle between the three protagonists.

Overall a good story, and definitely makes me interested in looking at others in the series. So check it out, and be sure to drop in and let us know what you thought. To enter to win a copy see our giveaway here.

About the Author

Paul LevinePaul Levine is best known for two series of legal thrillers: “Jake Lassiter” and “Solomon vs. Lord.” His newest novel, the national bestseller “Bum Rap,” brings together the protagonists of both series in an explosive murder case set on glitzy South Beach.

Levine’s first novel, “To Speak for the Dead,” introduced the world to Jake Lassiter, an NFL linebacker turned hard-nosed lawyer. Lassiter has been described by The Miami Herald as “having more charisma than Perry Mason ever did” and by Booklist as “one of the most entertaining series characters in contemporary crime fiction.”

In “Bum Rap,” Lassiter has had it with sleazy clients, shifty prosecutors, and a legal system out of whack. He’s about to hang up his shingle when Victoria Lord calls. Solomon has been arrested for murder. What’s worse: the only person who can clear him has disappeared. Now it’s up to Lassiter and Lord to track down the witness–a stunning Bar girl–before she’s roped in by the feds…or eliminated by the Russian mob.

Levine’s other series features squabbling lawyers – and lovers – Steve Solomon and Victoria Lord, who duel in and out of court. The Chicago Sun-Times praised “Solomon vs. Lord” as: “Remarkably fresh and original with characters you can’t help loving and sparkling dialogue that echoes the Hepburn-Tracy screwball comedies. A hilarious, touching and entertaining twist on the legal thriller.”

Levine has won the John D. MacDonald fiction award and has been nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award, the Macavity, the International Thriller Writers Award, the Shamus Award, and the James Thurber Humor Prize. A graduate of Penn State and the University of Miami School of Law, he was a trial lawyer before becoming a full-time novelist.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lisa at TLC Book Tours for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Giveaway – Bum Rap – Paul Levine

Posted on: July 16th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes

Thanks to Lisa at TLC Book Tours, I”m able to offer my readers 1 printed copy of this book. To enter, follow these simple rules:Bum Rap

1) One Entry if you’re a follower [You can follow through Google Friend connect to the right, you can also sign up to follow through Twitter or Facebook].
2) An Additonal Entry if you blog about this contest.
3) An Additonal Entry if you’re a new follower.
4) One entry each for posting on facebook and/or twitter.
5) Must leave a comment letting me know how you follow me, blog link to this post, facebook/twitter link, etc.
6) Contest will continue until 07/30/2015.
7) This giveaway is open to residents of US. No PO Box addresses (street mailing only).

See our review here.

Review: The Cancer Solution – Jack C. Westman

Posted on: June 30th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
The Cancer Solution
Paperback: 310 pages
Publisher: ArchwayPublishing (January 15, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1480813087
ISBN-13: 978-9781480813083
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Review

Books such as this are difficult for me to review. Like most of us, I’ve lost people I love to cancer. So going into this, it was a hard book for me to read. But I’m glad I did, for the information within it, could be very beneficial to those going through cancer, or who have loved ones battling cancer.

The book covers many different aspects of the cancer journey. The first chapter covers all the conventional cancer treatments. There is a chapter covering the health care system, an area that can be a huge problem for cancer patients, particularly those who may not have adequate health insurance. It then covers a look into cancer, what it is, how it occurs, and the research methods going on. Following that are a few chapters on immunotherapy and nutritional therapy.

The author then wraps up the novel with chapters on where things currently stand, and what the future holds. I think this could be a valuable guide and help to those dealing with his dreadful disease. For that I recommend it, but with the hope that you never have need of it.

About the Author

Dr Jack WestmanDr. Westman holds an M.D. and an M.S. from the University of Michigan. He is Professor Emeritus of Psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health. He has published extensively on individual differences in children, learning disabilities, child abuse and neglect, child advocacy, family therapy, children’s and parents’ rights and public policy. He has been Editor of Child Psychiatry and Human Development, President of the American Association of Psychiatric Services and President of the Multidisciplinary Academy of Clinical Education. He currently is President of Wisconsin Cares, Inc.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Rebecca Brown at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: LA Rotten – Jeff Klima

Posted on: June 25th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
LA Rotten
Publisher: Alibi (May 12, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10:
ISBN-13: 978-
Order e-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

A crime scene cleaner begins noticing a pattern, when he is continuously called to the same hotel room number. He discovers that there is actually a serial killer running amok.

Characters:

Tom Tanner – Crime Scene Cleaner and Heroin addict.
Ivy – A stripper, who involves herself with Tom’s investigation.

Review

I wasn’t sure what to think of this book at first. I didn’t find the protagonist, Tom Tanner very likeble. By the time I got to the end though, I was able to appreciate his growth arc. Tom is dealing with a heroin addiction, while working as a crime cleanup pro, and sidelining for a group that needs him to get rid of bodies. He frequents strip clubs, and just doesn’t appear to be a pleasant person. But as the story progresses, we see him grow, we see the loyalties he holds, and while he may not do so kindly, a lot of the things he does, is out of caring for the other person.

The plotline I found very interesting. A series of murders are occurring at a motel chain. Different branches, but always the same room #. Each of the murders though is made to look like an accident, or a suicide. Tom involves himself in discovering this. Aided in his investigation, though not through any desire of his, is Ivy, a local stripper, and someone Tom doesn’t like so well.

While I was unsure of the story at the beginning, I found myself liking it. The characters were fairly well developed, and much of the book read like a classic private eye novel. I’d rate it as for 17 or older due to a lot of strong language, drug use, and violence. However, for those interested in thrillers, pick this up for a great summer read, and be sure to drop in and let us know what you thought.

About the Author

Jeff KlimaJeff Klima spent years in the grime and guts of Southern California as a cofounder of Orange County Crime Scene Cleaners. He is a temporary survivor of Los Angeles and now resides in Ohio, where there is less danger but more corn. Although he’s hard at work on another Tom Tanner mystery, he still finds time to write short bios about himself for the backs of his other books. Also, check out The Dead Janitors Club—that’s a good one.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Lisa Munley at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: The Upstairs Lounge Arson – Clayton Delery -

Posted on: June 23rd, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Upstairs Lounge Arson
Paperback: 216 pages
Publisher: McFarland (June 5, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0786479531
ISBN-13: 978-9780786479535
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Synopsis:

Details the fire, subsequent deaths, and lives involved in the Up Stairs Lounge Arson.

Review

On June 24, 1973 in New Orleans Louisiana, an even occurred that the majority have not heard of. A gay bar caught fire, and 32 lives were lost. But what were the events that led up to this horrific event? Author Clayton Delery-Edwards takes us through that time period in a very honest look.

Mr. Delery-Edwards gives us a look at those 32 who died, some gay, some straight allies. He delves into the political climate of the time. The Fire department actually provided a more detailed case against the perpetrator than did the police. The police it seemed didn’t seem to care, it was just a bunch of gays.

This though, was a very difficult book for me to read. At times, it was so heart-wrenching, that I had to put it aside. But it also didn’t match what I thought going on. While I thought before reading it, that these people were murdered due to their sexuality, it appears that it was not the case.

The book is peppered throughout with historical photographs from the fire, and before the fire. Please note though, that some of the images may not be for the squeamish. However, for me they really helpd bring the whole story and case to reality.

A lot of the book reads more like a true-crime novel than a historical memoir. I found myself, despite the initial emotional turmoil enjoying that aspect of it. The author pulled from police reports, fire reports, newspapers, and personal interviews in providing a clear view the days prior to and preceding the fire.

With Pride Weeks happening all around the country, I felt that it was important to bring attention to this subject. There are still many areas of the country, where crimes against the gay community occur without any penalty, and with little to no concern by those in charge.

If you are a fan of history, are interested in LGBT history, or just want a great look into a crime that was never truly “solved”, then you will enjoy this book. So check it out, drop back by and let us know what you thought of it.

About the Author

Clayton Delery-EdwardsClayton Delery-Edwards is a native of Louisiana who grew up in the New Orleans area. He has a B.A. and an M.A. in English from the University of Louisiana, Lafayette, as well as a Ph.D. from the Graduate Center of the City University of New York. Since 1989 he has been a member of the faculty of the Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts, where he currently serves as the Director of Academic Services. He has been interested in the fire since seeing the first news coverage in 1973. He married his husband, Aaron, in a Canadian ceremony in 2008. They live in Natchitoches, Louisiana, with their two dogs, several chickens, and a pond full of gold fish.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Kristal Hamby at for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Suspense Magazine – John Raab

Posted on: June 16th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
January Suspense Magazine
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (May 12, 2015)
Language: English
Order e-book here:
amazon

Review

This will be a different type of review, as it doesn’t pertain to a book, but to a magazine about books. The magazine is called Suspense Magazine, and for fans, such as myself, of the Thriller/Mystery type novel, this is a great magazine. In just 90 pages, it packs a ton of stuff to read.

Among the offerings are Short Stories, Articles on the Writing Process, Interviews, Book Reviews, Movie Reviews, book excerpts, and many other articles.

Two of the hightlights for me were A very interesting Article about the differnt conspiracy theories concerning the murder of Abraham Lincoln. Another interesting article in the issue I reviewed, was a section related to the book Face Off, in which John Lescroart and T. Jefferson Parker discuss the use of prologues in fiction.

There is even an area where potential suspense authors can submit their work. In that way, it reminds me a lot of favorites from many years ago such as Alfred Hitchcock Magazine and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine.

If you are a writer of suspense, love the writing process, or just love novels of suspense, you should check out Suspense Magazine at bookstores or online. Be sure to drop back by and let us know what you thought.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Gina at Partners in Crime for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Review: Past Crimes – Glen Erik Hamilton

Posted on: May 12th, 2015 By Rick Rhodes
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: William Morrow (March 3, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0062344552
ISBN-13: 978-0062344557
Order book here:

amazon

Order E-book here:
amazon

Characters:

Synopsis:

Review

About the Author

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to William Morrow at Danielle for a review copy of this book. It in no way influenced my review. You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.