Archive for the ‘Urban Lit’ Category

Drama – George Hudson

Monday, September 20th, 2010

 

 

Paperback: 226 pages
Publisher: GSH publishing; 1st edition (September 1, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0615314082
ISBN-13: 978-0615314082
Order from here:
amazon
 
 
 

This book covers the lives of four people. There’s Deb, Lisa, Tammy, and Shaun. Deb has just signed a contract that will take her advertising company into the big time. Deb is involved in a rocky relationship with record producer Frank. Her friend Tammy is engaged to Shaun, who runs an auto body upgrade shop. The third friend Lisa, is single, but currently seeing a man named Leon.

The book shows the entire story from the perspective of the four main characters, Deb, Tammy, Lisa, and Shaun. You are taken through their lives, and the ups and downs. Drama was a very appropriate title for this book. There was lots of Drama. You get to see their side of the story, and events that happened to them, that the other characters don’t get to witness. I liked this technique. While Urban Lit is not my strongest area of knowledge, I liked the characters, and thought they were well crafted.

If you are a fan of Urban Literature, or just like books with a lot of dram, then I’d recommend you pick up this book.

See a guest post by Mr. Hudson on the subject of Urban Fiction here.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Mr. Hudson, his publicist, and BK Walker for a review copy of this book.  It in no way influenced my review.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

What’s Really Hood – Blog Tour

Sunday, June 13th, 2010

Today, we’re hosting a blog tour for Wahida Clark.  Ms. Clark is editor and contributor for What’s Really Hood.  Be sure and drop in to see our review of the book, an interview with Ms. Clark, and a giveaway of copies of the book.

You can read the review, here, read an article by Ms. Clark here, see our interview with her here and finally, enter a giveaway for 1 of 5 copies of What’s Really Hood here.

What’s Really Hood – Wahida Clark

Sunday, June 13th, 2010

 

 

Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; 1 edition (May 24, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0446539163
ISBN-13: 978-0446539166
Order from here:
amazon
 
 
 

This is a collection of Urban Lit short stories. There are five stories, by five authors. Each story deals with the grittier side of life, from crack addiction, to drive by shootings. The five stories are:

Black is Blue: A woman walking the straight and narrow finds out how easy it is to cross the street and get mixed up with the wrong people.
The P Is Free: A story about love, addiction, and the struggle to overcome it.
The Last Laugh: Involves gang violence, and the repercussions resulting from that.
All For Nothing: A small clique called the Point Blank Mob finds themselves on the run when revenge goes wrong.
Makin’ Endz Meet: When Nina gets tired of being taken advantage of by the men in her life, she takes matters into her own hand.

I found these stories entertaining. I got through the book in one weekend. Each story is about 50 pages long. The characters seem true to life, at least from my viewpoint. I grew up on the mean streets of Hurricane, WV. so I haven’t seen, or experienced the lives that these writers or the characters have experienced. All I can go by is through movies and TV shows that I’ve seen.

I could see the conflict in some of the characters, and some of the hopelessness they felt. I’d probably give this book an MC17 rating, due to language, violence, drug abuse, and some sexuality. If you are a fan of Urban Lit, or just fiction in general, and don’t have a strong aversion to the situations mentioned, then pick this book up. I think the stories will be able to keep your attention, and are probably just the right length for those doctor’s office, mechanic, etc. visits.

One drawback that I found, and would be helpful, is some kind of glossary. I realize the audience of this book is probably the young, Urban crowd, but it was hard for me at first, having to figure out what the characters were talking about. There were certain words, clothing items, and just manner, that while undoubtedly accurate to the characters, as a read inexperienced in that life, couldn’t understand. I am still not sure what one character meant when he talked about he used to roll drivers for lambskins, but now had lambskins in every color. I wasn’t sure if lambskins were condoms, or if it related to something else. But this is just my personal lack of knowledge, and doesn’t reflect on the book or the authors.

About the Authors:

Wahida Clark was born and raised in Trenton, New Jersey. She is no stranger to the hard work and sacrifices that breeds success.  This Jersey girl owned and operated multiple businesses in Trenton, NJ and Decatur, GA. She decided to write street fiction while incarcerated at the women’s Federal Prison Camp in Lexington, Kentucky.

She was crowned the Queen of Thug Love Fiction by Nikki Turner, the Queen of Hip Hop Fiction. Wahida’s style of writing is the ‘TEMPLATE’ for street lit.  So much so, that the Triple Crown Author, Keisha Erving copied her style, words and even used her characters names. Go to gorillaconvict.com and urbandbooksource.com for more on this deceit called plagiarism.

But when you read her novels, they are so real you are convinced of one of three things: you know the characters, you want to know the characters, or you a character. Her Essence, Don Divas and Black Issues Book Reviews, bestselling novels include: the trilogy Thugs and the Women Who Love Them, Every Thug Needs a Lady, and Thug Matrimony, Payback is a Mutha, and its highly anticipated follow up “Payback With Ya Life.” All published by Kensington/Dafina Books.

Wahida is the first Street Lit author to land multiple publishing deals with two major publishers all while serving an eight and a half years federal prison sentence.  She says it wasn’t easy. 

At press, she has just completed the follow up to Payback is a Mutha, entitled, Payback With Ya Life and is now working on ‘Thug Luvin’, part 4 to her ‘Thug ‘ Series. She is also Vice President of the non-profit organization, “Prodigal Sons and Daughters,” a re-entry program for those previously incarcerated, as well as support group for at-risk youth. Anyone interested in offering assistance to this life changing program can contact them at….

Visit her at www.myspace.com/wahidaclark, www.wahidaclark.org or write her at P.O. Box 8520, Newark, NJ 07108.

Victor L. Martin is the author of four published novels: A Hood Legend, Menage’s Way, For the Strength of You, and Unique’s Ending. He is currently incarcerated in a North Carolina prison.

LaShonda “L.L.Dasher” Sidberry-Teague is a Wilmington, North Carolina native, coming into her own as an up-and-coming author. She is the wife of author Kwame “DUTCH” Teague, one of the hottest street writers, and the mother of five children. She has found her calling in writing, and has her first novel coming soon, entitled Kiss. LaShonda lives by the motto…be a blessing and you will be blessed.

Bonta was born and raised on the mean streets of Chicago’s southeast side. After graduating high school and a brief stay in the U.S. Army, he answered the streets’ calling. His cost of chasing the mirage of fame and fortune was a 151-month federal sentence. While there, the legendary Joe Black inspired him to get serious about writing. Since then, he has written two novels and a few short stories.

Shawn “Jihad” Trump was born in Pennsylvania. In November 1999, Shawn was arrested and subsequently indicted by the federal government and sentenced to 84 months in prison. During his time there he learned to channel his emotions through writing. Since being released, Shawn continues to write and is also the partner of an up and coming indie label, South of the Burgh Entertainment. Shawn is married with two daughters.

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Anna at Hachette Book Group for a review copy and subsequent giveaway copies. It in no way influenced my review.

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Interview – Wahida Clark – Author/Editor What’s Really Hood

Sunday, June 13th, 2010

Today we have the pleasure to talk to Wahida Clark. She is an author, and editor of What’s Really Hood. What’s Really Hood is an anthology of Urban Literature stories. She was born and raised in Trenton, New Jersey.

Rhodes Review: Who are some of the writers you enjoy? Books?

Wahida Clark:

Donald Goins, Author of Dopefiend and Whoreson
Guy Johnson, Author of Standing at the Scratchline
Al Dickens, Author of Uncle Yah Yah: 21st Century Man of Wisdom

Rhodes Review: How do you get your inspiration/muse to write?

Wahida Clark: My inspiration to write came from working in the library and seeing books, reading books and realizing that I could do it too.

Rhodes Review: How do you come up with Story Ideas?

Wahida Clark: I come up with story ideas by looking and listening to my surroundings then pulling that special something from deep down inside.

Rhodes Review: How did you get interested in writing urban lit?

Wahida Clark: When I first started writing urban lit was just taking off. It was the genre that was growing non-stop.

Rhodes Review: What is the hardest part of writing for you?

Wahida Clark: For me the hardest parts of writing are creating the first draft as well as no longer being incarcerated. Writing while incarcerated was very easy in comparison to now being free with so many distractions.

Rhodes Review: What’s the best thing about being an author?

Wahida Clark: The best thing about being an author is trying to outdo myself with the next project.

Rhodes Review: What advice would you give aspiring authors?

Wahida Clark: Write, Write, Write. Also study your craft and understand that once your book is done the journey is just beginning. Being an author is a business for traditionally published as well as self-published authors.

Rhodes Review: What is your current writing project?

Wahida Clark: Right now I’m putting the finishing touches on The Golden Hustla.

Rhodes Review: What was the process like in working on this book?

Wahida Clark: For What’s Really Hood! I put out the call that I was accepting submissions. Then I poured through the submissions to find the perfect blend of hood stories.

Rhodes Review: What made you want to write/compile this book?

Wahida Clark: I had a short story in me and at the time I came across a couple of anthologies. I then told myself, “I can do that”.

Rhodes Review: Your writing journey – how did you get from your first taste of reading/writing to where you are now?

Wahida Clark: I had no plans of writing or any idea that I could pen a novel but once I got started I couldn’t stop. However practice makes perfect. The more you write and read the better you get. Being open to constructive criticism has been a plus for me.

We’d like to thank Ms. Clark for taking the time to answer out questions and thanks to Anna at Hachette Books Group for arranging it.

Success Has a Title – Wahida Clark

Sunday, June 13th, 2010

I believe that there are 3 keys to success.  Opportunity that you create, Knowledge and Action.  There is nothing to it but to do it.  I hate excuses.  You can’t make money or progress coming up with excuses.

Discipline.  You gotta make yourself do what you set out to do.  If you want to be successful you gotta stick to your plans.  You must find ways to train yourself to be disciplined.  I set a schedule for myself.  In prison my day started at 4:45 am.  It started with prayer, writing, perform my assigned prison job, exercise and write some more, including fan mail, editing and reading manuscripts.  Once you make up your mind to do something, don’t let folks talk you out of your plans.  You gotta stay focused and stick to it.

Sacrifice.  With success comes sacrifice.  Sacrifices will have to be made.  You will have to give up something.  I gave up lots of leisure time.  I gave up time that I wanted to use on other things but was it worth the sacrifice?  Absolutely.  I am now beginning to reap the rewards.

If I can beat the odds, so can you.  If I could do it so could you.  Set goals.  Stick to your plans and go for it!

****************************************************************************

If you are a little cautious you’ll accomplish little.   –Winston Churchill

The future is not something we enter; the future is something that we create.  – Ms. Jan the mail lady.

It’s hard to fail, but worse to never have tried.  – My Uncle John, R.I.P.

You are what you do!  Not what you want to do.  Not what you hope to do, not what you think to do.  – Ms. Ida, my teen Recreation Supervisor

Giveaway – What’s Really Hood

Sunday, June 13th, 2010

Thanks to Anna at Hachette Book group I”m able to offer my readers 5 copies of this book.  To enter, follow these simple rules:

1) One Entry if you’re a follower [You can follow through Google Friend connect to the right, you can also sign up to follow through Twitter or Facebook].
2) An Additonal Entry if you blog about this contest.
3) An Additonal Entry if you’re a new follower.
4) One entry each for posting on facebook and/or twitter.
5) Must leave a comment letting me know how you follow me, blog link to this post, facebook/twitter link, etc.
6) Contest will continue until June 27, 2010.
7) This giveaway is open to residents of US and Canada. No PO Box addresses (street mailing only).

Review – Sexaholics – Pynk

Tuesday, April 13th, 2010

 

Paperback: 336 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; March 23, 2010
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0446179582
ISBN-13: 978-0446179584
Order from here:
amazon
 
 
 

Miki Summers is addicted to sex. All sex. Onesomes, twosomes, threesomes, tensomes. Valencia is bisexual and engaged, but wants to keep her girlfriend Miki on the side. Her Fiance wants her to be monogamous to only him. Brandi is hooked on sex with strangers and one night stands. Teela is hooked on watching. She often takes other women home to watch her husband have sex with them. Each of these women meet one night at a Sexual Addicts Anonymous meeting. The story then proceeds to detail their lives, and their addictions after the meeting. Each chapter switches from one woman to the other, eventually bringing the story of all four woman together.

I first received an offer to take part in a blog tour for this book.  The tour part sounded interesting.  I agreed though with no idea what the world of Erotic Literature was truly like, well outside of some semi-pornographic novels my mother unknowingly purchased at a yard sale when I was 14. At first, while reading it, I was shocked. That’s not typically something easy to do. But it was uncomfortable. I felt like I was reading a porn movie, a bit voyeuristic. Heavy, hardcore descriptions of acts, some of which I’d never heard of. As the novel progressed though, I began to see the tragedy of the characters. Even though they could probably see their worlds crumbling around them, the addiction was too strong to deny. Like with smoking, alcohol, and drugs, they just kept searching for a newer and stronger high.

By the end of this, my focus wasn’t “I can’t believe she just wrote all that”, but was on the characters, and wondering what was going to happen to them. I could see the train coming, through their eyes, and know they were headed towards dangerous situations, but powerless to do anything to stop them. And I think that’s the true idea behind addiction, whether it’s sex, drugs, food, or anything else. It’s that powerlessness over it, and the inability to stop even though you see the dangers ahead.

The characters seemed very realistic to me. I actually cared what happened to them. Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve known versions of these people throughout my life, and known people facing addictions. I’ve struggled for years in not smoking, so in my own small way I can see things from their perspective. The author also did a good job in detailing the need, like with AA for admitting that you are powerless, and the need for some higher power.

The sex scenes are very graphically described. I would mark this for adults over 18 only, and if given a rating would probably give it a hard R or light X. At the same time though, I feel it’s a book that someone dealing with addiction, or who knows someone who is, could relate to, and maybe get some encouragement from. For that reason, or if you enjoy erotic literature, I’d say pick it up, I don’t think you’d be disappointed. But if you’re the type that gets embarassed or upset at wardrobe malfunctions during a super bowl game, then I’d say it’s probably not the book for you.

If you or a loved one do have problems with sexual addiction, and need to seek help, this might be a good place to start: http://www.sexaa.org/

You can discuss it here or join my facebook page and discuss it there.

Be sure and check out our interview with Pynk here, read an article from her here and enter our contest to win a copy of her book here

*Disclaimer* A special thanks goes out to Anna at Hachette Book Group for allowing me to participate in this blog tour, helping arrange an interview with Pynk, and for providing some books to give to you. This in no way influenced my review of this book.

Be sure and stop by all the other participants in this blog tour and see what they had to say about this book.

www.armsofasister.blogspot.com 4/7/2010 Review, Giveaway
www.bookwormygirl.blogspot.com 4/7/2010 Review, Giveaway
http://reesspace.blogspot.com 4/7/2010 Feature, Giveaway
http://sumanam.wordpress.com/ 4/7/2010 Feature, Review, Giveaway, Q&A [Seems like this site is gone now]
http://www.masoncanyon.blogspot.com 4/7/2010 Giveaway
http://fredasvoice.blogspot.com 4/8/2010 Feature, Review, Giveaway, Guest Post
www.bibliophilicbookblog.com 4/9/2010 Review, Giveaway
www.authorexposure.com 4/9/2010 Feature, Giveaway
http://myoverstuffedbookshelf.blogspot.com/ 4/10/2010 Review, Giveaway
http://momofboyswithtoys.blogspot.com 4/10/2010 Feature, Review, Giveaway
www.longlivechicklit.wordpress.com 4/10/2010 Review
http://a-mom-life.blogspot.com 4/11/2010 Feature, Review, Giveaway
http://onemorefoggynotion.blogspot.com/ 4/12/2010 Feature, Review, Giveaway, Guest Post
www.justjenniferreading.blogspot.com 4/12/2010 Review, Giveaway
http://myfoolishwisdom.blogspotmcom 4/14/2010 Review, Q&A
http://bethsbookreviewblog.blogspot.com/ 4/14/2010 Giveaway